Roberto Logroño, MD Award and Lectureship - Nominations Sought (closed)

Oct 19, 2016, 08:47 AM by Melissa Harman

The Department of Pathology, UTMB seeks nominations for the established Roberto Logroño, MD Award and Lectureship for Professionalism in Medicine for meritorious faculty of the Schools of Medicine, Nursing, Health Professions, and the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences.  The deadline for nominations is Monday, December 5, 2016. Supporting documents should be sent together to Dr. David H. Walker at, with subject heading "Roberto Logroño Lectureship."

The nominee should be a UTMB faculty member noted for a high level of professionalism in patient care, teaching and/or medical research. Nominations will be received from students, house staff, faculty and staff, and should include a cover letter describing how the candidate exemplifies the principles of professionalism in everyday behavior and in interactions with peers, patients, and students. The proposal should be submitted electronically and should include the candidate's curriculum vitae (CV) and at least three (3) letters of support from colleagues who are well acquainted with the candidate. Additional letters of support are welcome.

The selection will be made by the Organizing Committee: Drs. Mark Holden, David Walker, Judith Aronson, Juan Olano, Joan Nichols, David Niesel, Jack Alperin, Susan McCammon, Vicki Freeman, Suzanne Alton, and Ms. Norma Hernandez.

The recipient of the award will be honored at a formal reception to be held on April 21, 2016 following the lecture on professionalism.

Learn more about the Roberto Logroño, MD Award and Lectureship.