The Sealy Center for Vaccine Development (SCVD) sponsors a number of pre- and postdoctoral fellowships and travel award support for graduate students and postdoctoral scientists. In 2013, a graduate student (Ronald Veselenak, mentored by Dr. Nigel Bourne) was awarded the SCVD award at the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences (GSBS) award luncheon. This award recognizes excellence in research in the field of vaccine development and is given to a University of Texas Medical Branch (UTMB) graduate student who has made a significant contribution to vaccinology-related projects consistent with the mission statement of the center.

SCVD is proud to support our current predoctoral fellows:

Samantha Nava
Microbiology & Immunology Graduate Program
Fourth Year
Mentor: A Clinton White, Jr, MD
Project Title: Role of calcium-dependent protein kinases and subtilisin-like proteases in merozite egress from host cells in Cryptosporidium parvum.

Daniele Swetnam
Fifth Year
Microbiology & Immunology Graduate Program
Mentor: Alan DT Barrett, PhD