Executive Committee

Alan DT Barrett, PhDAlan DT Barrett, PhD

Alan DT Barrett, PhD, became Director of the UTMB SCVD in January 2008. In April 2014 the SCVD was designated the World Health Organization Collaborating Center (WHO CC) for Vaccine Research, Evaluation and Training for Emerging Infectious Diseases, one of seven WHO CCs for vaccines in the World, with Dr. Barrett as Director. He was elected Fellow of the International Society for Vaccines in 2014 and Fellow of the American Academy of Microbiology in 2016. Dr. Barrett’s research interests are the molecular basis of pathogenesis and vaccine development of flaviviruses (dengue, Japanese encephalitis, West Nile, tick-borne encephalitis, yellow fever, and Zika). His research has resulted in him authoring more than 300 papers, reviews and book chapters. He has made several contributions to World Health Organization (WHO) activities on flavivirus vaccine research, development and implementation. Most recently he is a member of the Interim Scientific Advisory Committee, Coalition for Epidemic Preparedness Innovations (CEPI). He is Founding Editor-in-Chief of Nature partner Journal (npj) Vaccines (2015-present), and was an editor of the Journal of General Virology (2005-2009) and an Associate editor for Vaccine (2010-2012). He is a member of the editorial boards of eight journals:  Virus Research, Journal of Infectious Diseases, Journal of Medical Virology, Journal of Virological Methods, Journal of Virology, Virology, Clinical Vaccines and Immunology, and Pan Amazonian Health Journal.

Diane Barrett, MSc, CCRPDiane Barrett, MSc, CCRP

Diane Barrett, MSc, CCRP, serves as a member of the SCVD Executive Committee. Ms. Barrett trained as a registered nurse at the Nightingale School of Nursing, St. Thomas’ Hospital, London and received her BS and MS degrees from the University of Southampton in the UK. She also obtained a post-registration certification and practiced as a Registered Health Visitor for several years before moving to Galveston, Texas in 1993. Ms. Barrett joined the SCVD Clinical Trials Group (CTG) as a Clinical Research Coordinator in October 2002, became a Senior Clinical Research Coordinator in 2004, and now has 14 years of federal and industry-sponsored vaccine clinical trials experience. In her current position as Research Project Manager for the SCVD CTG, she is responsible for administrative support, oversight of financial management, contract facilitation, assisting the principal investigator with preparation and submission of sponsor-required reports, quality management and the day-to-day supervision and management of the study team.


David WC Beasley, PhDDavid WC Beasley, PhD

David WC Beasley, PhD, serves as a member of the SCVD Executive Committee. Dr. Beasley is an internationally recognized expert in the field of molecular biology of flaviviruses. His research focuses on the plasticity of flavivirus envelope protein sequences and the molecular basis for phenotypic variations between individual strains and major groups of flaviviruses, with the goal of developing and evaluating new and improved vaccines, diagnostics and therapeutics. He also served as a Co-Director of the University of Texas Medical Branch's (UTMB's) select agent BSL-3 laboratories and was the Director of the Galveston National Laboratory Regulatory Compliance Core. Dr. Beasley has been actively involved in UTMB's preparations for conduct of regulated nonclinical studies at BSL3/4 since 2005, with an emphasis on development and use of animal models for testing and approval of new vaccines and therapeutics under the FDA's Animal Rule. In addition, Dr. Beasley is the Associate Director of the WHO Collaborating Center for Vaccine Research, Evaluation and Training on Emerging Infectious Diseases (WHO CC).


Janice Endsley, PhDJanice Endsley, PhD

Janice Endsley, PhD, serves as a member of the SCVD Executive Committee. Her research is focused on mechanisms and regulation of cell mediated immunity to Mycobacterium tuberculosis (M.tb). We utilize human subjects, infected human lung tissue, and mouse and humanized mouse models of experimental tuberculosis (TB) for these studies. An important component of my work is investigations to determine how human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) compromises CD8+T cell and macrophage function in the host immune response to M.tb. The goal of these basic studies is to identify mechanisms whereby the CD8+T cell subset can be targeted by vaccine adjuvants and/or antigens. Additionally, I have NIH funding to develop the humanized mouse as a small animal model of HIV/M.tb co-infection. Development of this model will greatly enhance capabilities to design and screen innovative prophylactics and therapeutics for TB to use in populations with HIV-compromised immune systems. Through collaboration I have additionally extended my studies of cytotoxic lymphocytes to include natural killer cell function in infectious disease (M.tb, B. anthracis) and reproduction.


Andrew G McNees, PhD, MBAAndrew G McNees, PhD, MBA

Andrew G McNees, PhD, MBA, serves as Director, Administration, and as a member of the Executive Committee for the SCVD. He is responsible for serving as a liaison with various entities both on campus and off; overseeing budgets and support staff; preparing grants, contracts, reports and manuscripts; facilitating the ordering of supplies and equipment; and organizing logistics support for the center as a whole. In addition, Dr. McNees compiles data and reports the status of ongoing projects to Dr. Barrett for review.



Gregg N Milligan, PhDGregg N Milligan, PhD

Gregg N Milligan, PhD, serves as a member of the SCVD Executive Committee. He is an expert in the field of viral immunology and currently directs NIH-funded research projects dealing with identification of protective correlates of immunity against genital herpes virus infections and with the link between innate and adaptive immune responses in flavivirus infections. Dr. Milligan is active in the education of graduate and medical students.



Lisa M. Reece, PhDLisa M Reece, PhD

Lisa M Reece, PhD, serves as Assistant Director for the WHO Collaborating Center for Vaccine Research, Evaluation and Training on Emerging Infectious Diseases (WHO CC) and as a member of the SCVD Executive Committee. She is responsible for helping to manage and organize the WHO CC Internship Program. To that end, she helps recruit graduate/medical students for the internships and generates and maintains protocols for the student interns to follow that will help them navigate the intern process. She organizes and maintains communication between the WHO CC and collaborators. In addition, Dr. Reece manages WHO CC annual reports and maintains the intern database.


Richard Rupp, MDRichard Rupp, MD

Richard Rupp, MD is the Director of Clinical Trials and Clinical Research and a member of the Executive Committee for the SCVD. He leads the SCVD Clinical Trials Group, and is a Principal Investigator for clinical trials, Phase I to IV, in both pediatric and adult populations. Vaccines studied have included those protecting against human cytomegalovirus, seasonal, avian and pandemic influenza, pneumococcal disease, human papillomavirus, Dengue, varicella, Herpes simplex 2, and meningococcal disease.



Pei-Yong Shi, PhD

Pei-Yong Shi, PhD, serves as a member of the SCVD Executive Committee. Dr. Shi has pioneered flavivirus drug discovery in leading pharmaceutical companies and academia. He is also an internationally recognized leader in the field of flavivirus biology and vaccine development. He has published over 210 peer-reviewed articles and served as Editor (ACS Infectious Diseases, Journal of General Virology, and NPJ Vaccine) and Editorial Board member (Journal of Virology, Virology, and Antiviral Research). Dr. Shi’s lab integrates both academic and industrial expertise for basic and translational research.

SCVD Logo no words