Medical School Career Advising Committee

The Medical School Career Advising Committee (MSCAC) is a team of faculty and medical students that meet monthly to discuss updates on advising programs and activities geared towards improving students’ success in matching in their top choice of specialty. Faculty members serve a two-year term and student members serve a one-year term.

If you are interested in serving in the MSAC committee, please contact Dr. Stacy Shields

Committee Faculty Members

Michael Ainsworth, MDSr. Associate Dean Educational Performance
Office of Academic Affairsmainswor@utmb.edu(409) 772-3619
Ruth E. Levine, MDAssociate Dean
Student Affairs and Admissionsrlevine@utmb.edu(409) 772-1442
Norma A. Pérez Raifaisen, MD, DrPHAssistant Dean
Student Affairsnoaperez@utmb.edu(409) 772-1442
Majka Woods, PhDVice Dean Academic Affairsmajwoods@utmb.edu(409) 772-2759
Michael H. Malloy, MDProfessorDean Student Societiesmmalloy@utmb.edu(409) 772-2815
Barbara D. Calvert-Escoubas, PhDAssistant ProfessorPsychiatry/Behavioral Sciencebdcalver@utmb.edu(409) 747-9508
Bernard Karnath, MDProfessorInternal Medicine
bmkarnat@utmb.edu(409) 772-4182
Melissa M. Smith-Phillips, MD, PhDAssistant ProfessorPediatric Urgent Care Centermemsmith@utmb.edu(409) 772-6829
Misha F. Syed, MDAssociate ProfessorOphthalmologymfsyed@utmb.edu(409) 747-5801
Dawnelle Schatte, MDAssistant Dean
Educational Affairs
daschatt@utmb.edu(409) 747-9675
Rafael Fonseca, MDAssociate ProfessorPediatric Neonatologyrafonsec@utmb.edu(409) 772-2815
Soham Al Snih, MD, PhDProfessorRehabilitation Sciencessoalsnih@utmb.edu(409) 266-9691

Student Members

 MS3 Student RepresentativeSchool of Medicine 
Kendall WermineMS2 Student RepresentativeSchool of Medicinekewermin@utmb.edu

MS1 Student RepresentativeSchool of Medicine