School of Medicine MD Program Student AffairsAcademic Support and Career Counseling

Advising Committee

The Medical School Advising Committee (MSAC) is a team of faculty and medical students that meet monthly to discuss updates on advising programs and activities geared towards improving students’ success in matching in their top choice of specialty. Faculty members serve a two-year term and student members serve a one-year term.

If you are interested in serving in the MSAC committee, please contact Dr. Norma A. Pérez

Committee Faculty Members

Ruth E. Levine, MD Assoc Dean OSAA
Student Affairs and Admissions rlevine@UTMB.EDU
Norma A. Perez, MD, DrPH Dir Hispanic Cnt of Excellence Student Affairs and Admissions (409) 772-3558
Majka Woods, PhD Assoc Dean Educational Affairs Education Affairs (409) 772-2759
Norman M. Farr, MD, MPH Asst Prof- N-T Track Clinical Internal Medicine-General Medicine (409) 772-0173
Michael H. Malloy, MD Professor Pediatric Neonatology (409) 772-2815
Barbara D. Calvert-Escoubas, PhD Asst Prof- N-T Track Clinical Psychiatry/Behavioral Science (409) 747-9508
Bernard Karnath, MD Professor Internal Medicine-General Medicine (409) 772-4182
Melissa M. Smith-Phillips, MD, PhD Asst Prof- N-T Track Clinical Pediatric Urgent Care Center (409) 772-6829
Misha F. Syed, MD Assoc Prof- N-T Track Clinical Ophthalmology (409) 747-5801

Committee Student Members

Kara J. JencksMed Student 3School of
Preston K. IgweMed Student 2School of