For immediate release: July 18, 2007 GALVESTON, Texas - Cheryl L. Kaplan, director of the Theater Outreach and Education program at the University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston, has received the Lin Wright Special Recognition award from the American Alliance for Theatre in Education. According to AATE, the award honors those who have established special programs, developed experimental works and made distinctive educational contributions to advancing theatre for young people. Kaplan's main productions of her educational theatre works include the "UTMB Theater Troupe," "Ozone Theater," "Positive Drama in the Classroom" and "The Unspeakable Series: Out Loud." She will be recognized at the annual AATE awards ceremony in August. As part of UTMB's Institute for the Medical Humanities, TOE promotes theater as a tool for education and uses theater to raise awareness of health science and medical humanities issues within the community. The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston Public Affairs Office 301 University Boulevard, Suite 3.102 Galveston, Texas 77555-0144