UTMB’s Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences awarded 30 degrees during its 45th commencement ceremony Friday, May 3, in Levin Hall. Vice president and GSBS dean Cary Cooper presided over the convocation, and UTMB School of Medicine dean Dr. Danny O. Jacobs conferred the degrees.

During the ceremony, the Graduate Student Organization presented its Distinguished Teaching Award to Professor Giulio Taglialatela, associate director of the neuroscience graduate program and director of UTMB’s summer undergraduate research program. Taglialatela also received the GSBS Distinguished Faculty Service Award.
Professor Ashok Chopra of the microbiology and immunology department was honored with the Distinguished Faculty Research Award.
The commencement speaker, Professor Anthony Martin Gerdes, chairman of the department of biomedical sciences at New York Institute of Technology, received the GSBS Distinguished Alumnus Award for 2013.
Including students not attending the commencement, in the 2013 academic year the graduate school awarded 34 doctoral degrees, 15 master’s degrees and five M.D./Ph.D. degrees.