Why choose UTMB Health? 

UTMB Health offers innovative care provided with compassion and that is nationally recognized. We embrace a Best Care philosophy, which means that UTMB is committed to making sure each patient receives the right care for the best possible results.

UTMB Health remains committed to expanding access to advanced care on our Galveston, League City, Clear Lake and Angleton Danbury campuses and at more than 90 primary and specialty care clinics in Southeast Texas.

No matter where you enter the UTMB Health network, our providers, clinics and hospitals are seamlessly connected to one another.

Because we are an academic medical center, physicians share knowledge, the most advanced treatment options and leading-edge research – to bring you the benefits of academic medicine close to home.

Map of Texas with UTMB Health clinics marked

More reasons to choose UTMB Health:

Dr. Mariano Garcia-Blanco professor and chair of the department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

UTMB scientist elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Dr. Mariano Garcia-Blanco was named a member of the American Academy of Arts & Sciences.

Garcia-Blanco, professor and chair of the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology at the University of Texas Medical Branch, joins a distinguished group of individuals elected to the Academy including Benjamin Franklin, Alexander Hamilton, Charles Darwin, Albert Einstein among many others.

Founded in 1780, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences honors excellence and convenes leaders to examine new ideas, address issues of importance to the nation and the world, and advance the public good. 

“It is a great honor to join the academy and I am humbled to be included amongst such a distinguished group of thinkers, scientists, artists and leaders,” said Garcia-Blanco. “It is my hope that we continue to do important work here at UTMB and hope this work can change our world for the better.”

For more than 240 years, the Academy has been electing and engaging exceptional individuals. This year’s election of 261 new members continues a tradition of recognizing accomplishments and leadership in academia, the arts, industry, public policy, and research.

“We are celebrating a depth of achievements in a breadth of areas,” said David Oxtoby, President of the American Academy. “These individuals excel in ways that excite us and inspire us at a time when recognizing excellence, commending expertise, and working toward the common good is absolutely essential to realizing a better future.”

The complete list of individuals elected in 2022, including 37 International Honorary Members from 16 countries, is online HERE.

Learn More About UTMB Health:


 Contacts & Resources