Working Wonders - February

Feb 18, 2016, 10:15 AM by KirstiAnn Clifford

Katrina Lambrecht, JD, MBA, is the new vice president and administrator for AngletonKatrinaLambrecht Danbury Campus. She takes over for David Bleakney, who announced his retirement in December. Lambrecht joined UTMB in 2010 and most recently served as vice president of Institutional and Strategic Initiatives, where she oversaw a host of mission critical initiatives including the university’s involvement in the Texas Healthcare Transformation anad Quality Improvement Program (1115 Transformation Waiver) and the integration of ADC with UTMB. In her new role, Lambrecht will continue her leadership with the Medicaid 1115 Waiver.
SteveSchuenkeSteve Schuenke, a medical illustrator supporting the Department of Surgery at UTMB, was named Photographer of the Year by the Bay Area Photo Club. He competed against other photographers from the Houston/Galveston area, completing specific photo assignments each month that are judged and scored by a panel of peers. Schuenke has nearly 29 years of experience as a graphic artist and photographer at UTMB. His photography has been exhibited at The Arts Alliance Center at Clear Lake and Freeman Library in Clear Lake. He has won awards for both commercial and fine art work in regional and national competitions.
Dr. Csaba Szabo, a professor of Anesthesiology, was awarded the 2016 Pharmacia-Dr. Csaba Szabo ASPET Award for Experimental Therapeutics by the American Society for Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics. The award recognizes outstanding research in pharmacology and experimental therapeutics, basic laboratory or clinical research that has had, or potentially will have, a major impact on the pharmacological treatment of disease. Szabo is highly regarded as a world-renowned expert in the fields of oxidative and nitrosative stress, gaseous transmitters, cell death, cell dysfunction, and cardiovascular and inflammatory mechanisms.
OfficerBraunsdorfUTMB Officer Wesley Braunsdorf is the UT System Police Featured Officer of the Month for February. Braunsdorf is a canine officer and is usually seen with his four-legged partner, Noey, around UTMB and in the community. They have been part of several felony high-risk warrant executions, suspicious packages, bomb threats and violent offender suspect tracking. Braunsdorf began his career at UTMB as a guard in 2001 and was selected to attend the UT Police Academy in 2003.

DavidMarshallDavid Marshall, DNP, chief nursing and patient care services officer, recently received the 2016 Excellence in Nursing Award from Modern Healthcare magazine. Marshall was recognized for his achievements as a senior-level nursing executive, and was one of only three award recipients from more than 150 nominations nationally. During Marshall’s tenure at UTMB, he has been instrumental in numerous initiatives, particularly UTMB’s successful efforts to regain magnet status after Hurricane Ike. Most recently he led UTMB’s annual State Employee Charitable Campaign, which raised more than $500,000.
Satya Prakash, PhDSatya Prakash, PhD, was awarded more than $2 million from the National Cancer Institute to conduct studies that aim to gain a better understanding of the chemotherapeutic agent araC in order to determine ways to increase its effectiveness. This chemotherapy is used in the treatment of acute myeloid leukemia, which progresses rapidly and has a high rate of relapse.

UTMB’s Mother-Baby Unit, Urgent Care and Environmental Services were the latest recipients of the Always Award, which recognizes units and clinic teams who have moved closer to always doing the right thing for. The Mother-Baby Unit and Urgent Care received awards for inpatient and ambulatory locations, showing dramatic improvement in patient satisfaction over the past several months. A third award was given to Environmental Services, a department with a great influence on patient satisfaction scores. ES, operated by Sodexho, has worked to improve hospital cleanliness, currently ranking in the 82nd percentile for cleanliness.

Deb Mordecai, Kendra Perry and Tracey Santiago with Dr. David Marshall

Julie Hill with Jennie Lanier

Jason Botkin, Kurt Dickson and Denetra Lynn Smith with Emily Blomberg