After a successful run that spanned five decades, the final Impact was published in January 2020.  Impact was UTMB Health’s employee newsletter. It evolved from a one color printed tabloid newspaper to a full color magazine with a digital component. We’ve archived the past several years on these pages for your review and enjoyment.

Erika Parker, Suzanne Wilson

Working Wonders

Nov 21, 2016, 07:54 AM by KirstiAnn Clifford

Erika Parker, Suzanne WilsonErika Parker,
practice manager of the Mainland Cardiology Clinic, and Suzanne Wilson, assistant director of Care Management, received President Callender’s Way to Go Awards for going above and beyond to help patients navigate their health care. Parker was described as being “extremely professional and above all, she understood the patient’s needs. She helped assist a longtime patient in navigating cardiology care. We are so lucky to have her as part of the UTMB family.” Wilson was described as being “phenomenal, and truly one of the kindest and most compassionate people I have met at UTMB. She went out of her way to help me navigate a care need for a close family friend that almost seemed impossible in the short time frame needed.”
WTGA Environmental ServicesUTMB Environmental Services housekeepers Besy Martinez, Reina Martinez, Maranda Batista and Delmira Orellano received President’s Way to Go Awards for receiving the highest scores on their units for the past four months. James LeDuc, PhD, director of the Galveston National Laboratory, said Orellano worked extra hours to ensure the facility was clean and ready for an important visit including more than 60 state representatives and senators, legislative staff, elected officials and business leaders throughout Galveston County. “Delmira takes great pride in her work and always does it with courtesy and a big smile. She is a joy to have around, and we genuinely appreciate her every effort,” said LeDuc.
League City PSS Working WonderPatient Services Specialists DonnaKevin Merkley Papa and Vanessa Romero jumped into action when a landscaping crew carrying an unconscious co-worker approached them as they were leaving UTMB’s Multispecialty Center and Stark Diabetes Clinic in League City. Papa and Romero called 911 and got the automated external defibrillator (AED) per EMS request. Dr. Kevin Merkley, an ophthalmologist who was still in the building, monitored the patient’s vitals until emergency medical care arrived. Romero also translated between EMS and the men, who primarily spoke Spanish. They were recognized during the Health System Leadership Team meeting in September for their quick action and compassionate care.
Maker Faire

UTMB’s MakerHealth Space was awarded “Best in Class” for the second year in a row at the 2016 World Maker Faire in Queens, NY, on Oct. 1–2. It also earned an “Editor’s Choice” award. On display were examples of projects from our MakerHealth Space. David Marshall, DNP, JD, RN, chief nursing and patient care services officer, and Andrew Maxwell-Parish, MakerHealth Space manager, represented UTMB at the event.

Leslye Mlcak,
an administrative manager with Patient Services, was selected as the 2016 winner of the Anna Mary Lindsey Award at the Texas Alliance for Patient Services annual conference in Dallas. Every year, one member is recognized for demonstrating an earnest dedication to patient advocacy, contributing to improvements in the field, promoting patient advocacy through education of the community and fellow employees, and displaying exemplary personal characteristics that demonstrate the spirit of the Texas Alliance for Patient Services.

f_LillianLockhartDr. Lillian Lockhart, a professor in the Department ofDr. Ben Raimer Pediatrics, Division of Genetics; and Dr. Ben Raimer, professor in the departments of Pediatrics, Family Medicine, and Preventive Medicine and Community Health; recently were honored by the Texas Pediatric Society. Lockhart received the Charles W. Daeschner Jr., MD Lifetime Achievement Award, the highest TPS award, which recognizes the contributions to the health and well-being of children, as well as the education and mentoring of pediatric students. Lockhart has served as a UTMB faculty member for more than 55 years. Raimer received the Sidney R. Kaliski Award of Merit, recognizing a TPS member who has served as an advocate for children’s health and has made a substantial contribution to the TPS. In his role as UTMB’s senior vice president for health policy and legislative affairs, Raimer works steadily to affect legislative policy relevant to children and UTMB.
Barbara BryantDr. Barbara Bryant, professor and vice chair of pathology and medical director of UTMB’s blood bank technology program, is a recipient of the Sally Frank Memorial Award by the American Association of Blood Banks. Bryant was recognized for her significant achievements in education, leadership and antibody identification: “Her academic contributions to immunohematology are well demonstrated in numerous
publications; she has been a stellar teacher nationally while encouraging her students, both specialists in blood banking and transfusion medicine fellows, to cultivate data and provide new research for publication to AABB."