After a successful run that spanned five decades, the final Impact was published in January 2020.  Impact was UTMB Health’s employee newsletter. It evolved from a one color printed tabloid newspaper to a full color magazine with a digital component. We’ve archived the past several years on these pages for your review and enjoyment.


Working Wonders - July

Jul 17, 2017, 09:23 AM by KirstiAnn Clifford

Rebecca_Clayton_500Rebecca Clayton, a nurse in the surgical intensive care unit (SICU), was one of six finalists nationally to be recognized by American Nurse Today, the official journal of the American Nurses Association, during their “Spirit of Caring” contest. Clayton was nominated by a patient’s daughter for the compassionate care she gave to the patient, who was recovering from liver transplant surgery. After the patient had spent five months on the unit, Clayton coordinated a team of fellow nurses, patient care technicians and therapists to allow him to spend a few hours in the sunshine to lift his spirits. The nomination letter said, “It was soup for the soul for him to have that experience after so many months of not being outside. There was so much trust that we had when Rebecca was there. We were able to rest well because we knew she would make sure he was being cared for…”
Nina RazoNina Razo, an OR nurse at UTMB’s Angleton Danbury Campus, was voted as the #1 Nurse in The Brazosport Facts 2017 Reader’s Choice Awards. The newspaper published the announcement in the May 26 edition. Razo, who has been a registered nurse for eight years, recently graduated from UTMB School of Nursing’s RN to BSN program in May. Billy Russell, a nurse manager at ADC, said Razo has a “a passion to make things better, a commitment to values, a focus on innovation, the knowledge necessary to identify health care needs, and the skills to achieve goals and positive patient outcomes.”
Two UTMB physicians have been named 2017 William Osler Scholars in the John P. McGovern Academy of Oslerian Medicine. Dr. Lemuel Aigbivbalu, Department of Pediatrics, and UTMB alumnus Dr. Premal Patel, Department of Internal Medicine, were chosen for exemplifying the principles of highly competent, humane, compassionate, patient-centered care and teaching embodied by Sir William Osler.

SocialWorkersSocial Worker Lisa Moore and Josette George, a nurse case manager, recently received President David Callender’s Way to Go Award for advocating for an 83-year-old patient and making sure he was able to attend a family wedding. Working together, the two facilitated authorization from a discharge facility and insurance company for the patient, who was the patriarch of his family. Supervisor Rebecca Castro said, “It was important for the patient to attend the wedding, but not to lose his bed at the accepting facility. With great teamwork, Lisa and Josette made it possible for this patient to attend. We don’t just provide excellent health care—we also provide personalized care!”
Lashway and LiaoUTMB employees Lanette Lashway, a trauma registrar, and Dr. Bing Liao, an assistant professor in the Department of Neurology, were presented with the National Association of Chiefs of Police Life Saving Award for their quick actions to assist an Island Transit passenger in distress. The two were onboard the bus from League City to the Galveston Campus when another passenger said she couldn’t breathe and quickly became unresponsive, collapsing in her seat. Liao checked her vital signs and began CPR immediately. Lashway assisted by performing chest compressions, while Liao gave mouth-to-mouth. They performed CPR for several rounds until the Galveston EMS arrived on the scene. Nominated for the award by UTMB Police Chief Thomas Engells, Lashway and Liao were recently honored with a certificate and medal for their extraordinary actions.
SICU WTGAAn overnight team from the surgical intensive care unit (SICU) was presented with a President’s Way to Go Award for ensuring all patients receive Best Care, no matter how busy they are. On a recent night, the team received an influx of critically ill patients in a short amount of time. Several nurses had to go to other units to help care for patients who required interventions, including the massive transfusion protocol (MTP) and rapid infuser. Dr. Callender was joined by Donna Sollenberger and David Marshall to present the award to Ashley Hinojosa, Olinka Zamora, Adam Barber, Audriana Sais, Brandon Martin, Janice Simpson, Mark White (Blocker Burn Unit), and Morgan Woodard. Rachel Murphy, clinical operations administrator, said “This was teamwork at its best… When one team member received a patient, the whole team received the patient. Everyone pitched in.”
Cunningham_KKathryn Cunningham, PhD, director of UTMB’s Center for Addiction Research and vice chair of the Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology, was invited by the director of the National Institutes of Health to join a panel of experts to help identify scientific strategies for combatting the national opioid crisis. Specifically, Cunningham attended the meeting “Medications Development for Opioid Use Disorders and for Overdose Prevention/ Reversal,” which was intended to stimulate innovative directions in preventing and treating opioid use disorders and overdoses. The meeting was June 5 on the NIH campus in Bethesda, Maryland.