After a successful run that spanned five decades, the final Impact was published in January 2020.  Impact was UTMB Health’s employee newsletter. It evolved from a one color printed tabloid newspaper to a full color magazine with a digital component. We’ve archived the past several years on these pages for your review and enjoyment.


Working Wonders

Dec 20, 2017, 09:10 AM by KirstiAnn Clifford

UTMB Correctional Managed Care employees Gary Eubank, chief nursing officer, and Paul Brown, Region 3 director of nursing, co-wrote several chapters in the fourth edition of the book “Financial Management for Nurse Managers: Merging the Heart with the Dollar.” The book addresses the financial management issues faced by nurse leaders in a variety of settings, including hospitals, long-term care facilities, outpatient clinics and home care.
Dr. Odette Comeau, an adult critical care clinical nurse specialist, was selected as a recipient of the 2018 American Association of Critical Care Nurses (AACN) Circle of Excellence Award. The annual award is given to individuals who exemplify excellence in high-acuity and critical care nursing practice. Recipients demonstrate relentless promotion of patient-driven excellence; communication skills; true collaboration; effective decision making; meaningful recognition of others; ability to transform thinking, structures and processes; and ability to address challenges and remove barriers to excellent patient care and achieve visible results through leadership. Comeau will be recognized at the AACN National Teaching Institute and Critical Care Exposition.
Maribel Bhojani, a clinical educator at UTMB, was recognized by the Texas Nurses Association as a top 20 Outstanding Nurse of 2017 for her contributions to the profession. She received an award at the 27th annual Nursing Celebration, hosted by the Texas Nurses Association, District 9, on Nov. 9 in Houston. Eighty-three “Hurricane Heroes” also were honored for their heroic efforts during Hurricane Harvey, including UTMB’s Shelia Bationo, Jeramie Cummings, Jason Garner, Michele Grace, Meredith Hartzog, Alex Jimenez, Dora Kuntz, Paula Strangeland and Scott Woodby.
For the second time, the UTMB Cycling Team was recognized by the Galveston Bay Foundation as one of the “Top 10 Fundraising Teams” during its annual Bike Around the Bay event Oct. 21-22. The event includes a two-day, 170-mile ride around Galveston Bay. Twenty-two team members raised more than $5,500 to benefit the preservation and protection of the Galveston Bay, as well as help with local flood recovery efforts for those impacted by Hurricane Harvey.
Dr. Jeff Temple, director of Behavioral Health and Research in UTMB’s Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, won the 2017 Outstanding Contribution to Science Award from the Texas Psychological Association. The award presented at the association’s annual meeting states that Temple was honored for “contributions to the advancement of psychology, medicine, public health, teen dating violence prevention and education through your research, which has directly influenced policy and has been cited within multiple state, country and legislative boards.”
PT faculty
Faculty members from UTMB’s Department of Physical Therapy in the School of Health Professions were recognized for their outstanding achievements at the Texas Physical Therapy Association conference in Corpus Christi in October. Dr. Lynne Hughes, associate professor, received the Jeanette Winfree Award for exceptional value to the chapter. Dr. Michael Furtado, clinical assistant professor, was presented with the Warren C. Smythe Outstanding Service award. Dr. Dana Wild, associate professor, was honored with the William Gould Memorial Outstanding Physical Therapy Faculty Award.
UTMB’s Angleton Danbury Campus hosted its third annual chili cook-off in early November, giving employees the opportunity to bring the heat and work wonders in the kitchen. A judging team consisting of physicians, ambulatory staff and volunteers tasted the nine different entries. Employees were invited to taste the entries, as well as select the People’s Choice Award. The winners included: “Spice Girls” presented by Pam Buttaccio and the ADC Dietary team (Best Overall); “To Bean or Not to Bean” by Crystal Lichon and the Patient Financial Services team (Most Unique); “Spice World” by Ashlee Cantu and the Dietary team (Spiciest Chili); and “Two Meat Puerto Rican Chili” by Steven Gehret and the UTMB Police team (People’s Choice).