The 2016 Dr. King Community Service Award drew a record number of nominations and the Diversity Council chose six winners that included two UTMB staff members, two students and two members of the faculty.

The winners are Eva Tillmon of marketing and communications, Chenica Grant from research services; graduate student Oluwarotimi Folorunso, medical school student Tracy Cable; Dr. Anish Bhardwaj, chairman of the neurology department and Lisa Cain, director of medical school enrichment programs. The award is to recognize members of the UTMB community who exemplify King’s legacy to promote civil rights and equality.

Weaver to speak about infectious diseases

Scott Weaver, scientific director of the Galveston National Laboratory will speak at 6 p.m. today about “Emerging Infectious Diseases and Biodefense Research at UTMB” at a meeting of the Osler Club. The presentation will be at Congregation B’nai Israel, 3008 Ave. O, in Galveston. Admission is free, but space is limited. Call 409-747-9680 to reserve a seat.

Help needed educating children

UTMB’s Tammy Cupit and Dora Kuntz are seeking community input for a project to develop an evidence-based, nurse-led family life and sexual health education intervention curriculum to be used in local schools. The goal is to address issues that will reduce teen pregnancy and sexually transmitted disease rates. A survey has been developed to make sure issues addressed are important to the community. The survey can be found at Cupit and Kuntz received a President’s Cabinet award for the project.

Health Policy Dialogues continue

Danette McKinley, director of research and data services at the Foundation for Advancement of International Medical Education and Research, is the guest speaker for the next UTMB Health Policy Dialogues on Jan. 20. His presentation, “International Medical Education and Health Equity: What is Known,” begins at noon in the Clinical Sciences Auditorium on the Galveston Campus. Contact Becky Trout,, for more information.

Of historical note
In 1913, the Medical Department’s chair of surgery was a founding member of the American College of Surgeons. Fast forward to the present and the president-elect of the scientific and educational association of surgeons is UTMB’s Dr. Courtney Townsend.