Ortega-Barnett to keynote school of medicine commencement

Dr. Juan Ramon Ortega-Barnett will be the keynote speaker at the 127th School of Medicine commencement on June 3. Ortega-Barnett is a neurosurgeon and assistant professor in the department of surgery at the University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston. Ortega-Barnett, who knew at an early age that he wanted to be a physician, earned his medical degree from LaSalle University Medical School in Mexico City, Mexico. He was a resident in general surgery at West Virginia University in Morgantown, W.V., and chief resident in neurosurgery at Allegheny General Hospital in Pittsburgh. His unique career path has included living on a reservation in the remote mountains of Chihuahua, Mexico, serving as the local doctor for the Tarahumara people who live in the region.

Giacino wins Moody Prize

Dr. Joseph Giacino, director of rehabilitation neuropsychology and research associate in the department of physical medicine and rehabilitation at Spaulding Rehabilitation Hospital in Boston, is this year’s winner of the Robert L. Moody Prize for Distinguished Initiatives in Brain Injury Research and Rehabilitation. Giacino, who directs the hospital’s neuro-rehabilitation laboratory, receives a $10,000 honorarium with the prize, which will be presented Thursday during the annual Galveston Brain Injury Conference at Moody Gardens in Galveston. The Moody Prize recognizes significant contributions in brain injury rehabilitation and research. UTMB’s School of Health Professions rehabilitation sciences and the Transitional Learning Center of Galveston present the prize annually.

Cupit and Marshall will present at national nurse conference

Tammy Cupit and David Marshall’s abstract, Maker Health: Cultivating a Spirit of Creativity and Innovation in Health Care, was accepted for presentation at the American Nurses Credentialing Center National Magnet Conference to be held in October in Houston.

Did You Know?

The medical branch recently received the United Way’s Legend Award for the 2016 State Employee Charitable Campaign. Led by 2016 chairman Dr. James Graham, a steering committee and more than 60 “SECC Ambassadors,” the medical branch raised $590,000 for charitable agencies and causes in the communities where the medical branch’s employees live and work. The SECC has been in existence for more than two decades and is the only statutorily authorized workplace campaign for state agency and higher education employees in Texas.