For immediate release: Jan. 17, 2007

GALVESTON, Texas — Dr. Ben G. Raimer has been named the recipient of the 2007 Martin Luther King Jr. Humanitarian Award by the Galveston Kingfest Committee. The award is presented annually to an individual who has helped to support a higher quality of life for members of the Galveston community. Raimer is vice president and chief executive officer for community health services at the University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston.

The award was announced at the annual MLK service at Avenue L Missionary Baptist Church on Sunday, Jan. 14. It was presented to Raimer at the MLK Musical Tribute at Galveston’s Grand Opera House on Monday, Jan. 15.

“I consider this one of the most distinctive honors that I have ever received,” Raimer said. “I have long admired the work begun by Dr King. His dream for peace, access to health care and education, the elimination of poverty and the advancement of opportunity for all people are worthy of our continued work."

The Kingfest Committee guides the local celebration of Dr. King’s birthday. Committee members are co-chairs Ministers Manuel Thomas Jr. and Shirlyn C. Thomas, Anna Young Fields, Harrison Persley Jr, Shirley Adams, John Cooks, Cornelia Harris Banks, Barbara Gordon, Cleveland Hendricks III, Rev. Michael Jackson, Frank Nichols, Leon Phillips II, Jama Shabazz Jr., Ennis Williams, Maggie Williams and Tarris Woods.
The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston
Public Affairs Office
301 University Boulevard, Suite 3.102
Galveston, Texas 77555-0144