For immediate release: May 4, 2007

GALVESTON, Texas - Courtney M. Townsend Jr., the John Woods Harris Distinguished Chairman of the Department of Surgery at the University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston, was elected president of the American Surgical Association, the nation's oldest and most prestigious surgical organization, on April 27. He is the 126th surgeon to be chosen for that honor since the association was founded in 1880.

In December, Townsend was named one of Texas Monthly's "2006 Texas Super Doctors," a list of the state's best physicians covering 20 specialties.

The ASA claims as members the nation's most prominent surgeons from the country's leading academic medical institutions, many of whom, like Townsend, chair the departments of surgery at their respective institutions. Leading surgeons from around the world are also members. The association considers itself the world's premier organization for surgical science and scholarship. It provides a national forum for presenting the developing state of the art and science of general and sub-specialty surgery and for the elevation of the standards of the medical/surgical profession.
The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston
Public Affairs Office
301 University Boulevard, Suite 3.102
Galveston, Texas 77555-0144