For immediate release: May 21, 2007

GALVESTON, Texas - The School of Medicine at the University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston has announced five finalists for the prestigious 2007 Gold-Headed Cane Award, the highest honor bestowed upon a graduating medical student.

The 2007 Gold-Headed Cane Award finalists are John R. Blevins, Jeffrey D. Cone Jr., Ashley T. Gallagher, Kristin A. Kucera and Jeyhan S. Wood.

"All of these students have demonstrated a passion for patient care, academic excellence and community service," said Dr. Garland D. Anderson, dean of the School of Medicine. "I am proud of their commitment to the healing profession." The award recognizes extraordinary dedication to the health and welfare of patients. Being nominated for this award is an honor in itself, and honorable mention is given to the finalists.

The Gold-Headed Cane Award has a long tradition at UTMB. Dr. Charles T. Stone Sr., professor emeritus of internal medicine, established the award in 1960. The cane is passed down to the winning student each year during commencement ceremonies and is displayed in the Moody Medical Library. The winner receives a desktop replica to keep. The concept honors the 18th century practice of presenting an actual gold-headed cane to the pre-eminent physician in English society. One such cane was continuously carried from 1689 to 1825 by five distinguished British physicians and now resides in the Royal College of Physicians in London.

The name of the award recipient will be announced on the day of commencement, Saturday, June 2.
The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston
Public Affairs Office
301 University Boulevard, Suite 3.102
Galveston, Texas 77555-0144