In a survey of Texas medical professionals, 32 doctors from the University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston have been named Texas Super Doctors. 

The doctors were selected by Key Professional Media Inc. and the publishers of Texas Monthly. More than 40,000 medical professionals were asked to nominate one or more doctors in specific medical specialties based on one question: “If you needed medical care, which doctor would you choose?” The findings are published in the December 2012 issue of Texas Monthly.

“This is a tremendous honor, especially when it comes from your peers,” said UTMB President Dr. David L. Callender. “That so many of our physicians have been honored by the Super Doc recognition is a testament to the commitment of our faculty to truly improve the lives of their patients through the exemplary care they provide every day.”

 The Texas Super Doctors from UTMB, and their specialties, are as follows:

Dr. Karl E. Anderson, Gastroenterology
Dr. Patricia S. Beach, Pediatrics
Dr. Robert E. Beach, Nephrology
Dr. Thomas A. Blackwell, Internal Medicine*
Dr. Kelly D. Carmichael, Orthopaedics*
Dr. Fernando Cesani-Vazquez, Radiology
Dr. Vincent R. Conti, Cardiovascular Surgery
Dr. Emilio B. Gonzalez, Rheumatology
Dr. J. Andrew Grant Jr., Allergy and Immunology
Dr. Kristene K. Gugliuzza, Transplant Surgery
Dr. Gary D.V. Hankins, Obstetrics and Gynecology
Dr. Sandra S. Hatch, Radiation Oncology
Dr. Robert M.A. Hirschfeld, Psychiatry
Dr. Philip H. Keiser, Infectious Disease
Dr. Alfred S. Lea, Infectious Disease
Dr. Scott D. Lick, Cardiothoracic Surgery
Dr. Ronald W. Lindsey, Orthopaedics
Dr. Michael H. Malloy, Neonatology*
Dr. Sharon S. Raimer, Dermatology*
Dr. Sally S. Robinson, Pediatrics*
Dr. Patricia A. Rogers, Pediatrics
Dr. George R. Saade, Obstetrics and Gynecology
Dr. Karen E. Shattuck, Neonatology*
Dr. Michael B. Silva Jr., Vascular Surgery*
Dr. Sanjiv Sur, Allergy and Immunology
Dr. Leonard E. Swischuk, Radiology
Dr. Barbara L. Thompson, Family Medicine*
Dr. Courtney M. Townsend Jr., Surgery*
Dr. Vincent G. Valentine, Pulmonary
Dr. David H. Walker, Pathology
Dr. Clinton A. White Jr., Infectious Disease
Dr. Sidney A. Worsham III, Urology*

*UTMB School of Medicine Graduate