Inaugural run Saturday
The inaugural Stop, Drop and Roll 5K run/walk starts at 8 a.m. Saturday, Feb. 23 at Moody Gardens. Registration is $25 for adults ages 14 and older and $10 for children. There is no registration on race day. Sponsored by the Blocker Burn Champions organization, all proceeds go toward assisting survivors of burn injuries and their families. For more information, and to register for the race, go to

18th Annual Lefeber Winter Series on Aging
The UTMB Sealy Center on Aging hosts the Lefeber series of lectures, presenting experts from around the country on a variety of topics each Tuesday evening through March 5, from 5 to 6 p.m. in the Levin Hall South auditorium and reception in the foyer following. The series continues tonight with “Why women live longer than men — and the implications for their old age,” by Dr. William Hazzard, professor emeritus in gerontology and geriatric medicine at the University of Washington and Wake Forest University. Next week is “Exercise as medicine: translational research in older women. 

Breast cancer support group
The “Reconstruction of a survivor” breast cancer support group will meet from 6 to 7:30 p.m. Thursday at the UTMB Specialty Care Center at Victory Lakes, 2240 Gulf Freeway South in League City. Light refreshments will be provided. To register, email

Biosecurity symposium
“Biosecurity education for practicing life scientists: The missing past, unsatisfactory present and uncertain future” was the topic of Dr. Malcom Dando, professor of International Security at the University of Bradford in the United Kingdom. A biologist by training, his main research interest is in the preservation of the prohibitions embodied in the Chemical Weapons Convention and the Biological Weapons Convention at a time of rapid scientific and technological change in the life sciences. 

Walser named chairman
Dr. Eric M. Walser is chairman of the radiology department effective immediately. He has been serving as interim chairman since September 2012. He also serves as director of vascular and interventional radiology and holds the George R. Herrmann, M.D. professorship.  Walser earned his medical degree from UTMB in 1988 and began his career there. He returned to campus in 2011.  

Prestigious award
Noelle C. Anastasio, a postdoctoral fellow in the Center for Addiction Research and the department of pharmacology and toxicology, was awarded a National Institutes of Health “Pathway to Independence Award” from the National Institute on Drug Abuse. She’s the first postdoctoral fellow at UTMB to receive this prestigious NIH Award. The award for nearly $300,000 will help to support her research on the biology and pharmacology of impulsivity to advance the prevention and treatment of cocaine addiction as well as related impulse-control disorders. 

Educators recognized
The Academy of Master Teachers announced the first recipients of the Educator of the Month award, which began in October to acknowledge, thank and reward outstanding teachers at UTMB nominated by students and colleagues for exemplifying educational excellence. Honored are Alice Hill, professor and director of the School of Nursing doctoral program; Victor Reyes, professor in the departments of pediatrics and microbiology and immunology; Mark Clark, assistant professor in the Institute for the Medical Humanities; and Bonnie Webster, assistant professor in the School of Nursing.