Traffic-flow change
An expansion project at the UTMB Health Specialty Care Center at Victory Lakes in League City will require the temporary redirection of traffic in the area. Access to the primary patient parking lot in front of the facility will be available from the Interstate 45 northbound feeder road. More detailed information is available at   

Vaccine trial
UTMB is recruiting healthy adults ages 18 to 45 for a dengue vaccine study. The study requires 14 visits over approximately 10 months, and reimbursement for time and travel is provided. For more information, contact Carrie Harrington at 409-772-1696 or; or the clinical trials group at 409-772- 5278 or  

18th annual Lefeber Winter Series on Aging
The lecture series hosted by the UTMB Sealy Center on Aging concludes this evening at 5 p.m. in the Levin Hall South Auditorium, with a reception in the foyer following. “Lifestyle interventions to reduce frailty in obese adults,” will be presented by Dr. Dennis T. Villarreal, chief of geriatrics at the New Mexico VA Health Care System and professor of medicine at the University of New Mexico School of Medicine. 

Diabetes support group  
Learn to grow your own “Dietary approaches to stop hypertension,” or DASH, diet at this month’s meeting of the UTMB diabetes support group on Monday, March 11. The group meets from 6 to 7:30 p.m. on the second Monday of each month in Suite 9 of the UTMB Multispecialty Center and Stark Diabetes Clinic, 2660 Gulf Freeway South in League City. To reserve a place, call 832-505-2300.

Gastrointestinal cancer support group
The UTMB colorectal and GI cancer support group will host a group discussion on future presentations at their next meeting at 5:30 p.m. on Tuesday, March 12 in room 1.132 of the Rebecca Sealy Building, at the corner of Market and Eighth streets. The group meets the second Tuesday of each month. For more information or to RSVP for the meeting, contact Robert Webster at 409-789-5074 or

University of Texas Academy
Laura Rudkin
, professor and interim chairwoman of the department of preventive medicine and community health, and Daneshvari Solanki, professor in the department of anesthesiology, are among 12 educators from the University of Texas System institutions inducted into the University of Texas Academy of Health Science Education. Members of the academy represent a diverse group of educators from the many disciplines in health science education who fulfill the strict criteria set by the academy including direct teaching, curriculum development, counseling and mentorship, leadership, and educational scholarship and research.

Levin Memorial service
UTMB last week honored the life and legacy of Dr. William C. Levin, president emeritus and graduate of the School of Medicine in 1941. He joined the faculty in 1944 and directed the blood bank and division of hematology for nearly three decades before becoming the second person to hold the title of president in 1974. During his presidency, UTMB research funding doubled, 15 new facilities were added and new academic programs were launched, including the M.D./Ph.D. combined degree.