David W. Niesel has been named vice president and dean of the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences at UTMB. He has been interim VP and dean in the GSBS since September 2013. Niesel, who has been at UTMB since 1983, holds the J.P. Saunders Professorship in Graduate Biomedical Sciences and the Etheridge Professorship in the graduate school. He received his Ph.D. from North Carolina State University in 1980 and completed postdoctoral research fellowships at the National Institutes of Environmental Health Sciences in Research Triangle Park, N.C. and in the Department of Microbiology at the University of Texas in Austin. He joined UTMB’s Department of Microbiology and Immunology in 1983. He became interim chairman in 2000 and was appointed permanent chairman in 2004.