McKinney earns Award for Excellence in Academic Medicine
Dr. Kevin H. McKinney
, associate professor in endocrinology in the Department of Internal Medicine, is one of six physicians recently given the Texas Medical Association’s 2014 Award for Excellence in Academic Medicine.This achievement, according to the TMA, recognizes “academic physicians who are consummate teachers, role models and medical professionals.”

Fourth of July closure
UTMB schools, business areas, administrative offices and most clinics will be closed Friday. John Sealy Hospital and the emergency room never close. For information about UTMB clinics and patient services, including pediatric urgent care clinic hours, visit or call 409-772-2222.

Health System business development
Jeremy Brynes
this month becomes associate vice president for business development at UTMB. He has served as the assistant administrator and director of business development for Memorial Hermann Northwest Hospital, where he oversaw a number of health service lines and was involved in the strategic planning process. He also has worked with Baptist Hospitals of Southeast Texas. His experience includes a variety of roles in the fields of health care and advertising.

Transplant support
The Texas Transplant Center support group meets from 5:30 p.m. to 7 p.m. today at the Multispecialty Center and Stark Diabetes Clinic, 2660 Gulf Freeway S., in League City. The group is open to all pre- and post-transplant patients.Go to or contact Elizabeth Latiolais at

Healing through Humanism
“Journey to healing” is the first in a five-part film and discussion series beginning at 1:30 p.m. to 3:30 p.m. July 8, at the Galveston Island Community Center, 4700 Broadway, Suite B101. The discussion includes exploring the human side of tragedy and loss, insights into the problems of doctors’ depersonalization and burnout and the significance of psychological self-healing for both doctors and patients.The series is free, but preregistration is required. Call 409-763-5604 or email

Nurse residents graduate
Nearly 40 UTMB nurse residents completed the Nurse Residency Program, which is a joint effort of the University Health System Consortium and the American Association of Colleges of Nursing, which they began in July 2013.

Nursing excellence award
Vincent Price
is the winner of the inaugural Owen Murray Award for Nursing Excellence, which recognizes a nurse who always provides compassionate, patient-centered care. Nurses Tammy Fontnette and Amanda Chavarria also were honored.

Inside UTMB is compiled by the communications department at the University of Texas Medical Branch.