Galveston County Daily News (Internet / Print) 01/11/06 Dr. Valerie M. Parisi, dean of the UTMB School of Medicine, has been appointed to the Thomas N. and Gleaves T. James Distinguished Chair. Created in honor of the University of Texas Medical Branch’s third president and his wife, the distinguished chair was largely funded by The Sealy & Smith Foundation, Houston Endowment and John S. Dunn Research Foundation. Parisi, the second faculty member to hold the endowed position, said she was surprised by the announcement. “I’m so honored to be selected for this distinguished chair, particularly since it bears the name of the university’s former president and his wife,” Parisi said. “This endowment is a great mark of distinction, and I’m humbled to have been appointed to it.”