2018 logo for Vizient Award

UTMB earns second consecutive national award for quality patient care

The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston, for the second consecutive year, has earned a prestigious national award for providing superior care to patients. Out of 99 academic medical centers nationwide, UTMB ranked fourth, earning the 2018 Vizient Bernard A. Birnbaum, MD, Quality Leadership Award. 

Rising from ninth place in 2017, UTMB is among a small number of academic medical centers nationwide recognized for demonstrating superior quality and safety performance as measured by the Vizient Quality and Accountability Study, which has been conducted annually since 2005.

UTMB experienced significant improvement since the implementation of the Best Care initiative in 2016 to deliver quality patient care at every level.

“We are thrilled to earn this recognition for a second consecutive year because it recognizes the incredible work of UTMB’s physicians, employees, nurses, staff and administrators who work so diligently every day to assure that our patients receive the very best care possible,” said Donna K. Sollenberger, executive vice president and chief executive officer, UTMB Health System.

The 2018 Vizient Quality and Accountability Study rankings place UTMB among other top academic medical centers in the nation.

“To be ranked among the best academic medical centers in the nation is an honor and I’m so proud of our employees who everyday work diligently to provide the best possible care and service to our patients,” said Dr. David L. Callender, UTMB president.  “This award embodies the commitment and spirit of UTMB to always do our best and what is best for our patients.”

The academic medical center winners for 2018, including UTMB are:
1.  Mayo Clinic – Rochester
2.  Rush University Medical Center
3.  NYU Langone Medical Center
4.  The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston
5.  The University of Kansas Health System
6.  University of Pennsylvania Health System
7.  University of Utah Health
8.  Houston Methodist Hospital
9.  Memorial Hermann – Texas Medical Center
10. Tufts Medical Center
11. Morristown Medical Center

The Institute of Medicine’s six domains of care – safety, timeliness, effectiveness, efficiency, equity and patient centeredness – are used as a guide to structure the study criteria.

“This is particularly good news for our patients because the award represents UTMB Health’s commitment to providing access to compassionate, cost-effective, high-quality care—we believe this is what every patient deserves, each and every time,” Sollenberger said.

All News Categories