picture of Dr. Kendall Campbell

UTMB’s Campbell elected to National Academy of Medicine

Dr. Kendall Marvin Campbell, professor and chair of the Department of Family Medicine at UTMB, is a newly elected member of the National Academy of Medicine.

The academy announced the election of 90 regular members and 10 international members during its annual meeting in October. Election to the academy recognizes individuals who have demonstrated outstanding professional achievement and commitment to service.

“It is an honor to be elected to the National Academy of Medicine, and I am both grateful and humbled to become a member of an organization with the mission of improving health for all,” Campbell said.

Current NAM members elect new members who have made major contributions to the advancement of the medical sciences, health care and public health.

Campbell’s election citations are for his work in assessing academic and community factors impacting the development of a diverse medical workforce to further health equity; co-developing a Center for Underrepresented Minorities in Academic Medicine; and creating a research group for underrepresented minorities in academic medicine, presenting and publishing his finding regionally and nationally.

Campbell joined UTMB Oct. 15. He holds the Sealy Hutchings and Lucille Wright Hutchings Chair in Family Medicine. 

Previously, he was Senior Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and Chief Academic Officer at East Carolina University Brody School of Medicine. Campbell, who was also an associate professor with tenure in the Department of Family Medicine at the school, served as Brody’s Associate Dean for Diversity and Inclusion and was director of the Research Group for Underrepresented Minorities in Academic Medicine.

His many honors include the Society of Teachers of Family Medicine (STFM) 2021 President’s Award, induction as a Fellow of the American Academy of Family Physicians, the Martin Luther King Jr. Distinguished Service Award from Florida State University, and the “Advancing the Mission of the College of Medicine” Faculty Council Award from Florida State.

All News Categories