Dr. Deborah J. Jones Selected to be Inducted as a Fellow of the American Academy of Nursing

The American Academy of Nursing (AAN) has selected Dr. Deborah Jones, senior vice president and dean of the University of Texas Medical Branch School of Nursing, as one of its Class of 2022 Fellows. Jones is one of 250 nursing leaders from across the globe recognized for their significant contributions to health and health care.

“Induction into the American Academy of Nursing is a major milestone in a nurse’s career,” Jones said. “I am honored to be amongst health care leaders who are champions in policy, research, and academia that serve the health and wellness of community locally and globally.”

The newest Fellows represent 35 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands, and 17 countries. The Class of 2022 Fellows is the largest class since the organization began nearly 50 years ago.

Jones will be formally inducted at the AAN’s Health Policy Conference on Oct. 29 in Washington, DC, and honored by colleagues within and outside the nursing profession.

The American Academy of Nursing serves the public and the nursing profession by advancing health policy through organizational excellence and effective nursing leadership. The academy and its more than 2,800 members, known as Fellows, create and execute evidence-based and policy-related initiates to advance health care. Academy Fellows are nursing's most accomplished leaders in education, management, practice, and research. 

To learn more about this achievement and see the full list of 2022 fellows, visit https://utmb.us/6ww.

All News Categories