• slide 1
  • slide 8
  • slide 5
  • slide 6
  • slide 1
  • slide 13
  • slide 7
  • slide 2
  • slide 14
  • slide 17
  • slide 18


Aristides Koutrouvels, MDThank you for your interest in the UTMB Anesthesiology Critical Care Program. Our fellowship program has been in existence since 1995. Over this time the Program Directors have been Dr. Mali Mathru, Dr. Eric Bedell and myself. I have been with the Critical Care Division since 1997 and am the Program Director for our Anesthesiology Critical Care Fellowship Program.

The fellowship is a one year program, accredited by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME). Our goals include: providing educational and clinical experience so that subspecialty residents (fellows) will be proficient in their ability to care for and manage critically ill patients; provide research opportunities in any of a number of fields that may be of interest to subspecialty residents; and to gain an appreciation for the benefits of multidisciplinary health care provider education. We are guided by the core competencies recommended by the ACGME and the skill sets encouraged by the Society of Critical Care Anesthesiology. At the end of the fellowship, subspecialty residents will have gained necessary skills to be able to pursue a career in critical care in any capacity, including academic critcal care medicine.


Aristides Koutrouvelis, MD
University of Texas Medical Branch
Professor Department of Anesthesiology
Medical Director, SICU
Program Director, Anesthesiology Critical Care Medicine
Chairman, Institutional Review Board