Director's Welcome

Thank you for your interest in the MD-PhD Combined Degree Program at UTMB.

Lawrence SowersThis is a special time in the history of medicine and biomedical research. The explosion of knowledge in the biomedical sciences has created a gap between the understanding of the cellular and molecular basis of disease and the ability to apply that knowledge in a practical way to benefit patients. The central challenge of the next generation of physician-scientists will be to bridge this gap. There is no one better trained and equipped for this task than the graduates of an MD-PhD Combined Degree Program such as the one at UTMB. 

The UTMB Program is specifically designed to provide you with the scientific training and clinical experiences necessary for success in your future professional endeavors. The collaborative research atmosphere and emphasis on excellence in patient care at UTMB provides a rich environment for the development of outstanding physician-scientists. The carefully designed and highly integrated curriculum of our seven-year MD-PhD Program will prepare you for a fulfilling and exciting career of exploration, scientific discovery, and compassionate involvement in the lives of your patients.

I hope you will enjoy getting to know our program better by exploring the following pages.


Lawrence C. Sowers, Ph.D.

Director, MD-PhD Combined Degree Program
John Sealy Distinguished Chair for MD-PhD Combined Degree Studies in Honor of Dr. Truman G. Blocker
Chair, Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology
Professor of Pharmacology and Medicine
Director, Cancer Center Research Programs
Fellow, John Sealy Distinguished Chair in Cancer Biology

                 News & Events                    

Homepage News

  • School of Medicine Commencement

    Congratulations to the 2016 MD-PhD graduates who received their degrees at the School of Medicine Commencement on Saturday, June 4, 2016!
  • Congratulations! 2016 Match Results

    Muayad Almahariq - Radiation Oncology
    Eric Carlsen - Pathology
    Latham Fink - Psychiatry
    Aaron Gray - Orthopedics
    Dianne Lou - Anesthesiology
    Paul Nicholls - Internal Medicine
    Rimma Osipov - Internal Medicine
    Rachel Pearson - Pediatrics  

  • "A Visit with UTMB's Aaron Gray"

    News article about MD-PhD student Aaron Gray by Lora-Marie Bernard for