MD-PhD Program News and Events

Congratulations to Maggie Hsu!
Maggie has received an F30 fellowship from the National Cancer Institute. Congratulations!

Congratulations to alumnus Vlad Codrea!
Vlad was accepted to the Mohs Surgery Fellowship at UTMB (2019-2020).

Congratulations to our MD-PhD students on their Match Day results!
March 16, 2018
Eric Fitts: Pathology - University of Texas Medical Branch, Galveston, TX
Jim Hsu: Pathology - Methodist Hospital, Houston, TX
Talha Ijaz: Internal Medicine/Research - Emory University School of Medicine, Atlanta, GA
Jay Truitt: Medicine Prelim - University of New Mexico School of Medicine, Albuquerque, New Mexico
                Dermatology - Texas Tech University Affiliate, Lubbock, TX

Congratulations to GSBS Scholarship Award Recipients!
Maria Ansar - Michael Tacheeni Scott Endowed Scholarship
Amanda Price - Drs. Giovanni and Maria Grazia Micci Award for Mentoring Excellence
Amanda Randolph - Sealy Center on Aging Graduate Student Award
Yekki Song - Endowed Scholarship for the Medical Humanities; the William Bennett Bean Scholarship in the Medical Humanities; the Chester R. Burns Institute for the Medical Humanities Alumni award; the Dr. David C. Eiland, Jr. Scholarship Award in the Health Care and Humanities 
Paul Wadsworth - Robert Harrison, MD, Memorial MD/PhD Scholarship

Kyle Wilson's Dissertation Defense
July 27, 2017
12:00 PM
SHP/SON 1.104
Supervisory Committee Chair: Robin Stephens, PhD

Congratulations to Jay Truitt!

Jay is the 2017 School of Medicine winner of the Dr. and Mrs. Seymour Fisher Academic Excellence Award in Neuroscience. Congratulations Jay!

American Physician Scientists Association South Regional Meeting

The UTMB MD-PhD Combined Degree Program, in conjunction with the UTMB Institute for Translational Sciences, will be hosting the South Regional American Physician Scientists Association (APSA) Conference on January 28, 2017. This is a free, daylong event with two keynote speakers, breakout sessions, a poster session, and an oral presentation session. Please see the flyer below and meeting website for more information.


APSA Flyer 2017

Congratulations to the Class of 2017 Senior AOA MD-PhD Awardees!

  • Kevin Bieri
  • Heather Smith
  • Viktoria Topper
  • Jay Truitt

Senior AOA awardees are in the top 25% of the 2017 Class and have demonstrated excellence in academics, research, and high moral character. Membership in AOA is one of the most significant honors that can be awarded to a medical student.

The MD-PhD student awardees are enrolled in the UTMB/UT-Austin MD-PhD Program.

Welcome incoming MD-PhD class of 2016!

Joseph Donnelly
Texas A&M University

James Fisher
Pennsylvania State University
Yale University

Mark Sowers
Johns Hopkins University

Congratulations to our students on their 2016 Match Day Results!

Muayad Almahariq                                                                       
Radiation Oncology                                                                     
Beaumont Health System, Royal Oak, MI                                    

Eric Carlsen
UPMC Medical Education, Pittsburg, PA

Latham Fink                                                                           
University of Texas at Austin Dell Medical School, Austin, TX      

Aaron Gray
University of Nevada Affiliated Hospitals, Las Vegas, NV

Dianne Lou (UTMB/UT-Austin Program)                                        
Vanderbilt University Medical Center, Nashville, TN                     

Paul Nicholls
Internal Medicine  
Baylor College of Medicine, Houston, TX

Rimma Osipov                                                                           
Internal Medicine                                                                       
University of North Carolina Hospitals, Chapel Hill, NC     

Rachel Pearson
University of Washington Affiliated Hospitals, Seattle, WA

Congratulations to Ben Satterfield!

Ben was selected to participate in the 2016 World Health Organization (WHO) internship program in association with the UTMB Sealy Center for Vaccine Development. Ben will be undertaking vaccine-related research at the WHO headquarters in Geneva, Switzerland from September to November 2016. Congratulations Ben!