Global web ALERT button

UTMB Medical Staff Committees

All committees shall meet as frequently as necessary to discharge their responsibilities, but at least quarterly, except where authorized to meet annually.

Bylaws and Accreditation Committee

This Committee assures that the standards of the Joint Commission are maintained as they relate to the Medical Staff and makes recommendations to the Executive Committee on revisions to the Medical Staff Bylaws and Rules and Regulations.

  • Meets at least annually or as needed, meeting dates are set by Chair
  • Meeting Coordinator:  DeeDee Elizondo, Medical Staff Services (409-772-5262)
  • Current Chair: Aristides Koutrouvelis, MD, Past Chief of Staff 


Credentials Committee

This Committee reviews and evaluates the qualifications of physicians and other health care professionals who are requesting or renewing their clinical privileges as recommended by their departments.

  • Meets monthly on the 1st Thursday of each month, 12:00 to 1:00 pm, John Sealy Annex – Conference Rooms JSA 7.134 & 7.136
  • Meeting Coordinator: DeeDee Elizondo, Medical Staff Services (409-772-5262)
  • Current Chair: Melissa DeFilippis, MD, Chief of Staff Elect

Medical Staff Executive Committee

This Committee reviews reports and minutes from the departments, committees and officers of the Staff concerning patient care, patient care audit, and other quality activities and the discharge of their delegated administrative responsibilities.

  • Meets monthly on the 2nd Thursday of each month, 12:00 to 1:00 pm, Caduceus Room, 6th floor Administration Bldg.
  • Meeting Coordinator: Christina O'Neal, Shelly Lewis (409-772-5281) and DeeDee Elizondo, Medical Staff Services (409-772-5262)
  • Current Chair: H. Colleen Silva, MD, FACS, Chief of Staff

Pharmacy & Therapeutics Committee

This Committee is a multi-disciplinary workgroup serving as a medical staff advisory group for all matters pertaining to the use of medications within the university with the overarching goal of ensuring the safe, appropriate, and cost-effective use of pharmaceuticals. 

  • Meets bimonthly (odd months) on the fourth Monday of the month, 12:00 to 1:30 pm, Jennie Sealy Hospital-Conference Room 2.506A
  • Meeting Coordinator: Maryam Bayat, Pharmacy (409) 747-2511
  • Current Chair: Bagi Jana, MD

Physician Health and Rehabilitation Committee

This committee investigates and monitors any information on any practitioner who is impaired or alleged to be impaired; to develop health educational programs for the medical staff members to increase awareness; and develop programs that will provide assistance to the impaired professional.

  • Meets as needed; via telephone or Rebecca Sealy Hospital, Room 7.408
  • Meeting Coordinator: Patricia Henderson, Medical Staff Services (409-772-5288)
  • Current Chair: Edythe Harvey, MD

Professionalism Committee

This committee is designed to facilitate the evaluation and management of professional behaviors within the Medical Staff. 

Report any disrespectful behavior incident here.

  • Meets on the 2nd Thursday of each month, 12:45 – 1:45 pm, John Sealy Annex – Conference Rooms 7.134 & 7.136
  • Meeting Coordinator: Patricia L. Henderson, Medical Staff Services (409-772-5288)
  • Current Co-Chairs: Anish Bhardwaj, MD and Thomas Blackwell, MD

Quality of Care Committee

This Committee designs, implements and monitors a quality program that integrates all clinical areas including the hospital, campus-based clinics, community-based primary care and regional perinatal clinics,  the committee provides conventional oversight and problem resolution support for the UTMB Network Clinical Continuous Process Improvement Program.

  • Meets monthly on the 4th Thursday of each month, 4:00 to 5:30 pm, Jennie Sealy Hospital-Administration Suite Room 2.216Z
  • Meeting Coordinator: Kandy Parker, Quality Management (409-747-2151)
  • Current Chair: Gulshan Sharma, MD, Senior VP, Chief Medical and Clinical Innovation Officer (SVP/CMCIO)

Transfusion Committee

This Committee's mission is to monitor blood utilization and supply in the hospital and in the community.

  • Meets every other month on the last Thursday, 12:00 to 1:00 pm, 5.132 CSW
  • Meeting Coordinator: Dorothy Carroll, Laboratory Services (409-772-0795) and Ashlie Atchison, Laboratory Services (409-772-1526)
  • Current Chairs: Abelardo DeAnda, MD


 Revised: 2/23/2024