UTMB Health Department of Surgery Homepage Banner

Chair's Message

Steven Wolf, MD

Welcome to the Department of Surgery at the University of Texas Medical Branch. UTMB is a recognised leader in the advancement of surgical practice, education, and research for more than 130 years. We are the oldest department in the state of Texas, and we remain guided by a strong focus on innovation and directed activities to continue advances in our field.

Our department has over 70 faculty members across 12 divisions and sections, including many nationally and internationally recognized experts blazing new trails in continued excellence across the surgical specialties. Through exploration of new technologies, techniques, and clinical approaches, we continue to raise the bar to achieve outstanding patient care. We recruit faculty members with unique and diverse experience, strengths, and skillsets, further enhancing our ability to offer the highest level of care possible.

This breadth of talent also enables our department to provide a robust education and training experience for students, residents, and fellows. Our training programmes are comprehensive in clinical experience, and also include an American College of Surgeons accredited simulation center, the Sealy and Smith Laboratory for Surgical Training, Assessment and Research (LSTAR), to provide a highly sophisticated and unique training environment.

With a heavy focus on collaboration between clinical and basic science faculty, we proudly provide an ever-growing array of unique, impactful research findings and opportunities for faculty and trainees alike. Our federally funded grants including T32 training grants and research endowments insure that surgical trainees have a protected opportunity to attain expertise as clinical researchers, providing exposure to many fruitful opportunities.

Supported by the proud legacy of our storied department and institution, we are committed to the future of high-quality surgical care. This is an exciting and transformative time for all of health care, and our department is eager to lead the charge in the advancement of surgical care at UTMB and beyond.

Steven Wolf, MD
Chair ad interim, Department of Surgery
Professor and Division Chief of Burn, Trauma, and Acute Care Surgery