2019-2020 NCBA Departmental Seminar Series Unless otherwise noted, all Seminars are at noon in the Basic Science Auditorium,
Room 2.212, Basic Science Building


Dr. Jianguo Gu, Professor, Edward A. Ernst, M.D. Endowed Chair, Director for Pain Research, Editor-in-Chief, Molecular Pain, University of Alabama.

Title: "Cellular and molecular mechanisms of the sense of touch: implications in chemotherapy-induced peripheral neuropathy"

10/02/19Dr. Li-Yen Mae Huang

Dr. Joan W. Berman, Professor of Pathology and Microbiology and Immunology, Irving D. Karpas Chair in Medicine, Albert Einstein College of Medicine


Title: "Mechanisms of Viral Seeding, Neuroinflammation, and Toxicity: Critical Roles in neuroAIDS"

02/05/20Dr. Eliseo Eugenin

Dr. Michal Toborek, Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Miller School of Medicine, University of Miami

Title: "Cerebral Vascular Pathology of HIV Infection"

02/19/20Dr. Shao-Jun Tang

Dr. Deepak Kaushal, Professor and Director of the Southwest National Primate Research Center (SNPRC), Host Pathogen Interaction, Texas Biomedical Research Institute 

Title: “Granuloma mechanisms of Mtb containment and reactivation.

03/11/20Dr. Brendan Prideaux
Dr. Jaclyn Schwarz, Associate Professor, Psychological and Brain Sciences, University of Delaware03/25/20Dr. Shelly Buffington
Dr. Henry Puhl, Research Scientist, National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA), Cellular Biophotonic section, NIH
04/01/20Dr. Li-Yen Mae Huang
Dr. Shahid Umar, Professor and Vice Chair of Research, Director of Gastrointestinal Research, Department of Surgery, University of Kansas Medical Center
04/15/20Dr. Pomila Singh
Dr. Richard Youle, Senior Investigator, National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS)
05/06/20Dr. Qing Yang
Dr. Bajit Khakh, Professor of Physiology and Neurobiology, David Geffen School of Medicine, UCLA05/13/20Dr. Shao-Jun Tang