Faculty Accolades

APTR has appointed Cara Pennel, DrPH, MPH to the Board of Governors of the American Journal of Preventive Medicine (AJPM). Dr. Pennel is Graduate Program Director for Public Health and Associate Professor of Preventive Medicine & Population Health at University of Texas Medical Branch (UTMB). Dr. Pennel will serve a three-year term. AJPM is the official journal of the Association for Prevention Teaching and Research. It publishes articles in the areas of prevention research, teaching, practice and policy.

Kudos to Rebeca Wong, PhD, Associate Director of the Sealy Center on Aging, on her invitation to serve on the newly formed NIH Council of Councils Working Group on Behavioral and Social Sciences Research Integration. The panel of behavioral scientists and other community experts is tasked with providing recommendations on how to better integrate and realize the benefits to overall health from behavioral research at NIH.

Congratulations to Dr. Tracy Toliver-Kinsky, director of the BBSC and professor in the Department of Anesthesiology, on her election into The University of Texas Kenneth I. Shine, M.D., Academy of Health Science Education (Shine Academy). The Shine Academy supports and promotes excellence in all aspects of health science education, educational scholarship and leadership. Congratulations Dr. Toliver-Kinsky!