ANCC Panelist

Alison Glendenning-Napoli has been selected to serve on a case management standard-setting panel for the American Nurses Credentialing Center. ANCC’s internationally renowned credentialing programs certify and recognize individual nurses in specialty practice areas; recognize health care organizations for promoting safe, positive work environments; and accredit continuing nursing education organizations.

Wiggs Elected to Membership of UT Shine Academy

Carol M. Wiggs has been elected to membership of The University of Texas Kenneth I. Shine, M.D., Academy of Health Science Education (Shine Academy). The Shine Academy is a formal organization of distinguished scholars recognized for their teaching excellence, and is committed to the enhancement of health science education. Read more about the Shine Academy here.

Panel on Workplace Violence and Incivility

Tammy Cupit and Dora Kuntz in the UTMB School of Nursing have been selected to serve on the American Nurses Association Professional Issues Panel Advisory Committee related to Workplace Violence and Incivility. They have both conducted research related to incivility and are currently collaborating on a joint research project projected to begin in 2015 at UTMB on the topic. The goal of the ANA panel is to develop a position statement on workplace violence and incivility to provide detailed guidance for registered nurses and employers. Over 500 nurses nationally applied for the panel, indicating what an important topic this is for professional practice.

Saavedra Named Keynote Speaker

The Dr. Hector P. Garcia Memorial Foundation has named UTMB’s Rebecca Saavedra as the keynote speaker for the Dr. Hector P. Garcia Birthday Celebration Luncheon on Jan. 16 in Corpus Christi. Saavedra, vice president for strategic management, plays an essential role as she works with the president and executive leaders to develop and execute UTMB’s strategic vision. In this position, she has contributed to UTMB’s successful recovery after Hurricane Ike, during a time of tremendous change in health care and great challenges in the national economy. She is the founder of the Dr. Hector P. Garcia Student Essay Competition, an annual UTMB event established in 1997 that honors Garcia and his contributions to health care and social justice. In 2011, she received the Dr. Hector P. Garcia award at UTMB that recognized her continued support to keep his philosophy and accomplishments alive.

Sun & Science

UTMB’s Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences and The Methodist Hospital Ophthalmology Department, Houston held its inaugural Sun & Science: National Educational Research Conference for ophthalmology residents and fellows Jan. 9-11. The conference, the first of its kind, drew participants from around the nation. The goal of the conference was to enhance the interaction of residents and fellows in vision research, provide career development opportunities, and to shape ophthalmology residents into health care professionals of the highest caliber. Forty-one people attended and five participants were given a monetary award for their research presentations.