Academy of Master Teachers

Welcome to the Academy of Master Teachers

About Us

The UTMB Academy of Master Teachers was established in 2007 and is an honorary service organization to recognize Master Teachers and to provide an array of faculty development opportunities for all UTMB Faculty, including an annual Faculty Development Day, annual educational symposium, education grand rounds, journal club, innovation grants, mentoring and consultations. Membership is by application and selection against a set of standards. Members serve five-year terms and may be honored with the designation as University of Texas Distinguished Teaching Professors.

Mission Statement

The Academy of Master Teachers is an interprofessional community serving UTMB through the promotion of educational excellence.

Vision Statement

The Academy of Master Teachers will propel UTMB to a national and global reputation for excellence in biomedical and health professions education.


Levin Hall 5.518, Mail Route 1042, UTMB
Galveston, TX 77555-1042 
Phone: (409) 747-0203

AMT Grand Rounds 

Date: Thursday, March 2, 2023 via ZOOM
Time: 5:30-7 pm 
Topic: TBD
Presenter: TBD

Welcome and Congratulations 2022 New Members

2022 Lifetime Achievement Award

Patricia Fingerhut, PhD, OTR
Professor and Chair; Robert K. Bing Distinguished
Distinguished Teaching Professor 
School of Health Professions

Patricia Fingerhut, PhD, OTR is the Professor & Chair; Robert K. Bing Distinguished Professor; Distinguished Teaching Professor in the Department of Occupational Therapy at the UTMB School of Health Professions. She earned her Bachelor of Science and Master of Science in Occupational Therapy from the University of Alberta. She received her Doctor of Philosophy in Occupational Therapy from Texas Women's University.

Dr. Fingerhut is a member of the following organizations; UTMB Academy of Master Teacher, Alpha Eta Honor Society, Texas Occupational Therapy Association, America Occupational Therapy Association, and Phi Theta Epsilon Honor Society, NU chapter.

Previous to her work at UTMB, her practice and research were primarily in pediatrics both in the US and Canada. In 2005, she developed the Life Participation for Parents (LPP) to evaluate and measure outcomes in family-centered practice.



Educator of the Month - February 2023

John M. Leger, PhD, MBA, RN, NEA-BC, CNE, CNL
Executive Nurse Leader Track Coordinator 
John P. McGovern Chair in the Healing Practices of Nursing
School of Nursing 

Dr. Leger has a clinical background in critical care, general medical/surgical, and home health nursing. In addition, he has extensive experience in nursing leadership/administrative roles in both large academic medical centers and community hospitals. He has served as Vice President of Nursing and Clinical Quality for the largest LTAC hospital provider in the U.S. in which his division was comprised of 29 hospitals in 14 states.

Dr. Leger is most proud of his role as editor for the nursing textbook, Financial Management for Nurse Managers: Merging the Heart with the Dollar (4th Ed.), that was awarded for the American Journal of Nursing's 2017 Book of the Year Award in the Nursing Management and Leadership Category.  

Dr. Leger also serves on the Board of Directors for the Resource Crisis and Counseling Center for Galveston County, a non-profit organization whose mission is to promote safety, well-being and best interest of victims of family violence, sexual assault, and child abuse and to advocate for the prevention of such crimes.