Academy of Master Teachers

Welcome to the Academy of Master Teachers

About Us

The UTMB Academy of Master Teachers was established in 2007 and is an honorary service organization to recognize Master Teachers and to provide an array of faculty development opportunities for all UTMB Faculty, including an annual Faculty Development Day, annual educational symposium, education grand rounds, journal club, innovation grants, mentoring and consultations. Membership is by application and selection against a set of standards. Members serve five-year terms and may be honored with the designation as University of Texas Distinguished Teaching Professors.

Mission Statement

The Academy of Master Teachers is an interprofessional community serving UTMB through the promotion of educational excellence.

Vision Statement

The Academy of Master Teachers will propel UTMB to a national and global reputation for excellence in biomedical and health professions education.


Levin Hall 5.518, Mail Route 1042, UTMB
Galveston, TX 77555-1042 
Phone: (409) 747-0203

Faculty Development Day 2022 

Welcome and Congratulations 2021 New Members

2021 Lifetime Achievement Award

Ainsworth, Michael 2017Michael Ainsworth, MD
Senior Associate Dean Educational
John Sealy School of Medicine
Professor, Internal Medicine 

Dr. Ainsworth is Senior Associate Dean for Educational Performance in the John Sealy School of Medicine, and Professor in the Department of Internal Medicine. He is responsible for coordinating student clinical skills and professional development assessment activities in the School of Medicine. Dr. Ainsworth completed his medical school and residency training in Internal Medicine at UTMB. His background includes a faculty development fellowship at Michigan State University in the Office of Medical Education Research and Development. He has worked extensively with the National Board of Medical Examiners, with a focus on assessment of behavioral science knowledge and application. Dr. Ainsworth's recognitions include a New Investigator award from the Association of American Medical Colleges, a Distinguished Service award from the National Board of Medical Examiners, and election to the University of Texas Academy of Health Science Education, an organization for which he served as President in 2012-13.

Educator of the Month - July 2022

Bushra Manakatt, DNP, RN, FNP-C
Assistant Professor
School of Nursing Undergraduate Studies


Dr. Manakatt is a Assistant Professor in the School of Nursing Undergraduate Studies. She received her Bachelor of Science in Nursing from the University of Kerala, Government College of Nursing, Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala, India. Dr. Murthy attended The University of Texas Medical Branch for her Master of Science and Doctor of Nursing Practice. Dr. Manakatt's Clinical expertise is FNP at various clinical settings-outpatient clinic, Emergency Room, Intensive Care Unit, Long Term Acute Care, Rehabilitation, Geriatric Psychiatric Unit and Nursing Home. She is also Staff Nurse- Neurology, Neurosurgery, ICU, IMCU, Medical Surgical, Radiology, ER, Home Health, Stroke Unit, Oncology and Orthopedic floor.