BMB, Cellular Track and SBB students attend the BMB Departmental seminar series on Thursdays at 4 pm in the Basic Science Auditorium. Additionally, the students host Pioneering Biological Discovery Seminars every year.

Pioneering Biological Discovery Seminar

Sponsored by the Sealy Center for Structural Biology and Molecular Biophysics and the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, this seminar series allows students to select and welcome investigators involved in cutting edge science to our campus. The students handle the organization of the entire visit including travel arrangements, meetings, advertisement, seminar and reception. This is an excellent opportunity for them to develop management and organizational skills, and establish professional contacts with highly renowned scientists. Many visiting scientists admire the fact that students organize and schedule the entire experience. This makes for a great environment for the exposition of new ideas and presentation of new science.

Student nominations for future speakers are submitted to the BCSO officers and voting occurs during the BCSO meetings, generally during the spring semester. Watch the meeting announcements to know when the deadlines are. Click here for the form to nominate a speaker for the series.


  • Adrian Krainer, PhD
    Cold Spring Harbor Laboratories
    Date: December 12, 2019
    Title: From base pairs to bedside: Targeted antisense therapeutics to modulate RNA splicing


  • Yoel Sadovsky, MD
    University of Pittsburgh
    Date: October 2018
    Title: Placental-maternal-fetal communication via packaged molecular signals
  • Erica Ollmann Saphire, PhD
    The Scripps Research Institute
    Date: September 19, 2018
    Title: Broad ebolavirus and Lassa virus neutralization: key sites and engineering for improved activity
  • Karen Adelman, PhD Professor
    Harvard Medical School
    Date: May 3, 2018
    Title: Making sense of non-coding transcription


  • Phillip A. Sharp
    Nobel Laureate Institute
    Professor Koch Institute for Integrative Cancer Research Massachusetts Institute of Technology
    Date: January 12, 2017
    Title: Super-enhancers and non-coding RNAs-a phase transition model for transcriptional regulation


  • Paul L. Modrich
    2015 Nobel Prize in Chemistry
    James B. Duke Professor of Biochemistry
    Duke University School of Medicine Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute
    : April 21st, 2016

  • William F. Marzluff
    William Rand Kenan Professor of Biochemistry and Biophysics
    University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
    : October 13th, 2016
    : Birth and death of histone mRNA: Life without a poly(A) tail


  • Phillip Sharp, PhD
    Professor, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
    1993 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine,
    University of California, Berkeley
    : November 12th, 2015

  • Michael Skinner, PhD
    Professor, Washington State University
    : September 24th, 2015

  • Jeffery Molkentin, PhD
    Professor, Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center


  • Kristi S. Anseth, PhD
    Professor, University of Colorado, Boulder

  • Taekjip Ha, PhD
    Professor, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign


  • Randy Schekman, PhD
    Professor, 2013 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine, University of California, Berkeley
  • Steven McKnight, PhD
    Chair and Professor, University of Texas at Southwestern,


  • Joe G. N. Garcia, MD,
    Vice President for Health Affairs, University of Illinois, Chicago


  • Enrico DiCera, MD
    Chair and Professor, Saint Louis University School of Medicine, Saint Louis
  • Dorothee Kern, PhD
    Professor, Brandeis University
  • Klaus Hahn, PhD
    Ronald Thurman Distinguished Professor, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
  • Sankar Ghosh, PhD
    Silverstein and Hutt Family Professor and Chair, Columbia University


  • Peter E. Wright, PhD
    Professor and Chairman, Scripps Research Institute


  • Wayne Fairbrother, PhD
    Director, Staff Scientist, Genentech
  • Peter Schultz, PhD
    Professor, Scripps Research Institute


  • Isaiah Fidler, DVM PhD
    Professor, University of Texas MD, Anderson Cancer Center


  • Rama Ranganathan, MD, PhD
    Professor, University of Texas Southwestern Medical School


  • George Vande Woude, PhD
    Van Andel Research Institute


  • Jeffrey Kelly, PhD
    Professor, Scripps Research Institute


  • William DeGrado, PhD
    Professor, University of California, San Francisco