Global web ALERT button

The McLaughlin Committee
September 1, 2021 - August 31, 2023

The McLaughlin Committee has responsibility for managing the predoctoral and postdoctoral fellowship programs supported by the endowment, and serves in an advisory capacity to the Director of the Institute for Human Infections & Immunity and the President of the University of Texas Medical Branch.

Member Name




Tetsuro Ikegami, PhD

Assoc. Professor, Pathology


William Lawrence, PhD

Aerobiology Division Manager; Assoc. Professor, Microbiology & Immunology


Sunhee Lee, PhD

Assoc. Professor, Microbiology & Immunology


Heather Lerner Stevenson, MD, PhD

Director, Transplantation Pathology; Assoc. Professor, Pathology


Gracie Vargas, PhD
Committee Chair

Professor, Neuroscience, Cell Biology & Anatomy


Ping Wu, MD, PhD

Professor, Neuroscience, Cell Biology & Anatomy


Ashok Chopra, PhD, CSc

Professor, Microbiology & Immunology

ex officio

Jere McBride, PhD

Director, Experimental Pathology Graduate Program; Professor, Pathology

ex officio

Lynn Soong, MD, PhD

Director, Microbiology & Immunology Graduate Program; Professor, Microbiology & Immunology

ex officio

Scott Weaver, PhD

John Sealy Distinguished University Chair in Infections & Immunity; Director, Institute for Human Infections and Immunity; Professor and Chair, Microbiology & Immunology

ex officio