About the Professionalism Committee

In 2002, UTMB was one of five medical schools selected to participate in a medical professionalism pilot project sponsored by the American Board of Internal Medicine (ABIM) Foundation's. The goal of the project, entitled Putting the Charter Into Practice, is for participating institutions to apply the principles and responsibilities of the Physician Charter that was published by the ABIM in 2002 to its medical school student body.

The Professionalism Committee was established to develop a multidisciplinary approach to advancing professionalism, recognizing that a fundamental concern for a supportive and productive environment that advances educational, patient and institutional outcomes is our prime objective. Committee membership includes individuals from across the mission areas and workforce segments (e.g. academic and health system administration, physicians, nurses, faculty and students from all four UTMB schools). The broad representation ensures that efforts will address and impact all areas of our community. Members are appointed by the President and have demonstrated a commitment to professionalism and to act as effective change agents. The committee's major activities include: updating the Professionalism Charter, managing the Professionalism online reporting tool, and hosting campus wide lectures, brown bag discussions, workshops and training.

If you would like more information you may contact a member of the committee.

2018Committee members Additional FY18 members

Members of the 2018-2019 Professionalism Committee include:

  • Sasha Azar, Student Representative, Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences
  • Dr. Christine Baker, Associate Dean, Student Affairs, School of Health Professions
  • Carolanda Bremond, Co-chair, Associate Vice President, Legal Affairs
  • Shachia Bryan, Student Representative, School of Health Professions
  • Tilly Clark, Assistant Director, Special Use Facilities (EAC representative)
  • Esther Chavarria-Perez, Business Analyst, President's Office, Institutional Support Services (Admin Support)
  • Philesha Evans, Associate Vice President, HR and Entity Services
  • Stefani Garcia, Student Representative,School of Medicine
  • Dr. Kristene Gugliuzza, MD, FACS, Professor of Surgery and Pediatrics; Alonzo Alverly Ross Centennial Chair in General Surgery; Program Director, General Surgery Residency; Director, UTMB Renal/Pancreas Transplant Program; Scholar, John P McGovern Academy of Oslerian Medicine
  • Tonya Hanley, Student Representative, School of Health Professions
  • Ashley Henry, Student Representative, School of Nursing
  • Vivian Kardow, Vice President and Chief Human Resources Officer
  • Rachel Laird, Student Representative, School of Medicine
  • Dr. Ruth Levine, Professor, Associate Dean Student Affairs and Admissions, School of Medicine
  • Anne M. Nance, Student Representative, School of Nursing
  • Omneya Nassar, Student Representative, Honor Pledge Committee, Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences
  • Dr. Joan Nichols, Co-chair, Student Affairs Dean, Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences
  • Dr. Olugbenga Ojo, Associate Profesor of Medicine Internal Medicine; Chief Medical Officer/Chief Physician Executive (TDCJ)
  • Dr. Diana Pressley, Associate Dean, Admissions and Student Affairs, School of Nursing
  • Elizabeth Reimschissel, MSN, RN, CNL Director Professional Excellence in Nursing Services
  • Dr. Jose H. Salazar, Assistant Professor, Clinical Laboratory Sciences, School of Health Professions
  • Alexandria Smith, Student Representative, School of Medicine
  • Shelley Smith, Assistant Professor, Interprofessional Education
  • Dr. Karen Szauter, Professor, Department of Medicine; Office of Clinical Simulation
  • Alexis Williams, Student Representative, Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences