Professionalism at UTMB Health

About the Professionalism Committee

In 2002, UTMB was one of five medical schools selected to participate in a medical professionalism pilot project sponsored by the American Board of Internal Medicine (ABIM) Foundation's. The goal of the project, entitled Putting the Charter Into Practice, is for participating institutions to apply the principles and responsibilities of the Physician Charter that was published by the ABIM in 2002 to its medical school student body.

The Professionalism Committee was established to develop a multidisciplinary approach to advancing professionalism, recognizing that a fundamental concern for a supportive and productive environment that advances educational, patient and institutional outcomes is our prime objective. Committee membership includes individuals from across the mission areas and workforce segments (e.g. academic and health system administration, physicians, nurses, faculty and students from all four UTMB schools). The broad representation ensures that efforts will address and impact all areas of our community. Members are appointed by the President and have demonstrated a commitment to professionalism and to act as effective change agents. The committee's major activities include: updating the Professionalism Charter, managing the Professionalism online reporting tool, and hosting campus wide lectures, brown bag discussions, workshops and training.

If you would like more information you may contact a member of the committee.

FY2023 Professionalism Committee include:

  • Dr. Christine Baker, Co-chair, Associate Dean, Academic & Student Affairs, School of Health Professions
  • Dr. Karen Szauter, Co-chair, Assistant Dean, Educational Affairs, John Sealy School of Medicine
  • Dr. Amber Armstead, Assistant Professor, Occupational Therapy, School of Health Professions
  • Bruce Adcock, Assistant Professor Instruction, Respiratory Care, School of Health Professions
  • Lauren Beamon, JD, Assistant Vice President, Legal Affairs
  • Tilly Clark, Assistant Director, Special Use Facilities (EAC representative)
  • Dr. Muneeza Esani, Associate Professor, Clinical Laboratory Sciences, School of Health Professions
  • Dr. Laurel Humphrey, Assistant Professor, General Surgery, Angleton Danbury Medical Center
  • Dr. Janice Endsley, Professor, Microbiology & Immunology
  • Meisha Leonard-Wilson, PT, Rehabilitation Services Manager, ADC Physical Therapy
  • Christine Kovach Britain, Director, Employee Relations & Integrated Leave, Human Resources
  • Sara Niebuhr, Nursing Program Manager, Nursing Program Development
  • Dr. Olugbenga Ojo, Chief Medical Officer, Hospital Galveston
  • Mary Ann Pedraza, Associate Director, Business Operations, Office of the President (Committee Support)
  • Dr. Norma Perez-Raifaisen, Assistant Dean, Student Affairs, John Sealy School of Medicine
  • Dr. Diana Presley, Associate Dean, Admission & Student Affairs, School of Nursing
  • Jerri Denee Robison, MSN, RN, Regional Nurse Manager, Central Medical Administration (CMC)
  • Shelley Smith, MEd, Director, Interprofessional Education and Practice, QEP, Office of the Vice President of Interprofessional Education
  • Jeremy Stovall, OT, Rehabilitation Services Manager, Occupational Therapy
  • Dr. Juan Rojo, Assistant Professor Instruction, Clinical Laboratory Sciences, School of Health Professions
  • Elizabeth Stum, Chief of Staff, Office of the President
  • Richard Walker, Quality Management Specialist, Quality Management (Chair of the Black Employee Resource Group)
  • Dr. Holly West, Sr. Medical Educator, Department of Educational Development
  • Dr. Dana Wild, Assistant Dean, Student Affairs, School of Health Professions

 Student Representatives

  • Mario Zuniga Palma, John Sealy School of Medicine
  • Dakota Rodgers, John Sealy School of Medicine
  • Jenna Gray, John Sealy School of Medicine/PA Program
  • Joshua Derington, School of Nursing
  • Amber Tran, School of Nursing
  • Madeline De Carlo, School of Health Professions
  • Summer Meacham, School of Health Professions
  • Marie Ogedegbe, School of Health Professions
  • Fait Cox, Graduate School of Biomedical Science
  • Nicole Lloyd, Graduate School of Biomedical Science
  • Michael McKelvey, Graduate School of Biomedical Science
  • Georgia Loutrianakis, School of Public & Population Health
  • Martina Michael, School of Public & Population Health
  • Khamron Micheals, School of Public & Population Health