General Residency header art

 General Residency Program

About Our Program

The General Psychiatry Program at UTMB Health is a four-year program accredited by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME).

Our program participates in the National Resident Matching Service (NRMP) program and all applications are accepted through the Electronic Residency Application Service (ERAS). Our goal is to train general psychiatrists by means of strong clinic experience and a systematic exposure to relevant knowledge from biological, psychological and social sciences. Special effort has been devoted to achieving a well-balanced program integrating theoretical learning and clinical experiences. As a university-based program in a large public/private hospital system UTMB provides a solid core of knowledge and a scientific framework as well as the number and variety of patients for a full range of clinical experiences. A standing Curriculum Committee, on which residents sit as full members, introduces revisions and changes to improve education and training. Each resident can be assured that by the end of the program, all of the experiences for Board Certification will have been provided.

Genral Residency Program Directors

  • Cindy Wigg, MD

    Wigg, Cindy

    Program Director

    Dr. Wigg is board-certified in General and Child & Adolescent Psychiatry. She completed her residency and fellowship training at UTMB and remains active involved in medical student and resident education since she became faculty in 1986.

  • Derek Neal, MD

    Neal, Derek

    Assistant Program Director

    Dr. Neal is board certified in General Psychiatry. After completing his residency training at UTMB in 2014 he became faculty.



  • 8 months Adult Inpatient Psychiatry
  • 4 Months Primary Care 
  • 2 months Neurology 
  • 2 months Child & Adolescent 
  • 2 months Geriatric Psychiatry 
  • 2 months Addiction/Forensics Psychiatry
  • 4 months Consult/Liaison
  • 12 months Outpatient Psychiatry 
  • 1 month Forensic 
  • 3 months Administrative 
  • 2 months Service Chief Selective 
  • 6 months Electives 

PGY 1 Residents

PGY 1 General Residents

  • Glen Francisco, MD

    Francisco, Glen
  • Max Galvan, MD

    Galvan, Max
  • Nelson Holmes, MD

    Holmes, Nelson
  • Farah Kudrath, MD, MPH

    Kudrath, Farah Amal
  • Allison Popovich, MD

    Popovich, Allison
  • Megan Shaffner, MD

    Shaffner, Megan
  • Yicheng Shen, MD

    Shen, Yicheng
  • Thomas Wieck, MD

    Wieck, Thomas

PGY 2 Residents

PGY2 General Residents

  • Nisha Azhar, MD

    Azhar, Nisha
  • Troy Grantham, MD

    Grantham, Troy
  • James Loomis, MD

    Loomis, James
  • Robert McKenzie, MD

    Mckenzie, Robert Pierce
  • Charlena Melnyk, MD

    Melnyk, Charlena Janice
  • Michael Molina, MD

    Molina, Michael Lee
  • Paymon Mosavi, MD

    Mosavi, Paymon
  • Tracey Okwara, MD

    Okwara, Tracey Onyinyechukwu

PGY 3 Residents

PGY3 General Residents

  • Karen Chu, MD

    Chu, Karen
  • Matthew Hamilton, MD

    Hamilton, Matthew
  • Bilal Jilani, MD

    Jilani, Bilal Mohammed
  • Transon Nguyen, MD

    Nguyen, Transon
  • Navin Oorjitham, MD

    Oorjitham, Navin
  • Stacen Velvin, MD

    Velvin, Stacen
  • Elizabeth Vilchez, MD

    Vilchez di Giacomo, Elizabeth

PGY 4 Residents

PGY4 General Residents

  • Leyla Choobineh, MD

    Choobineh, Leyla Marie
  • Mark Hill, MD

    Hill, Mark Stephen
  • Leah Kolar, MD

    Kolar, Leah Anna
  • Caroline Lam, MD

    Lam, Caroline Mei-Sei
  • Thomas Phan, MD

    Phan, Thomas Ngoc

Application Requirements

  • Must apply through ERAS.
  • Completed Medical School no more than 10 years before applying.
  • Cannot have any length of prior residency training in any specialty.
  • Clinical experience is not required.
  • Must have taken and passed USMLE Step 1 and Step 2 CK & CS or COMPLEX Level 1 and Level 2CE, within three (3) attempts per step/level and have taken COMPLEX 2 PE, by time of application.
  • Must meet all of the Texas Medical Board (TMB) Requirements to be able to receive a Physician in Training Permit (PIT) by the start of PGY-1.
  • Foreign medical graduates must be ECFMG certified.
  • The only Visas accepted institutionally are J1 Visas.

For more information, please contact:

Jessica Moszkowicz
Program Manager

Useful Link

UTMB GME Website