Department of Family Medicine

The Department of Family Medicine at the University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston was founded as an independent department in 1971, but existed prior to that as a division of the Department of Preventive Medicine and Population Health. For almost 24 years the department was led by Barbara L. Thompson, MD, who stepped down as Chair in 2021. Since 2021, the department is led by Professor and Sealy Hutchings and Lucile Wright Hutchings Chair in Family Medicine,  Kendall M. Campbell, MD

Family Medicine faculty provide medical care to Galveston County residents through its three clinics, located on the UTMB Galveston campus, on the western end of Galveston Island, and in Dickinson, Texas, and through its inpatient service at the new Jennie Sealy Hospital in Galveston, Texas. Additional services are rendered at the Gulf Health Care Center nursing home and the Galveston County Health District's Coastal Health & Wellness.

At present the Department includes programs in medical student education, residency, faculty development, and research.

The Department’s Residency Program is a 12-12-12 program accredited by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME).

The Department’s Medical Student Education Program participates in all four years of the medical curriculum, offering a variety of elective and selective courses and its third-year family medicine clerkship. The program also provides examiners for various examinations throughout the curriculum, including the fourth-year Integrative Curriculum Evaluation Exercise (ICEE.)

The Research Program fosters clinical and educational research and collaboration with on-campus colleagues as well as with colleagues at other esteemed institutions. The program also provides research opportunities for students and residents.