Lifetime Achievement Award ~ 2023

Emilio B. Gonzalez, MD, FACP, MACR

Division Director of Rheumatology
Associate Director of Rheumatology Fellowship Program
Department of Internal Medicine

The Academy of Master Clinicians is proud to announce Dr. Emilio B. Gonzalez, has been selected as the 2023 Academy of Master Clinicians Lifetime Achievement Award recipient.

Dr. Gonzalez's remarkable journey in the field of medicine is a testament to his dedication and expertise. Joining UTMB in 2004 after a successful tenure at Emory University and Atlanta Medical Center, Dr. Gonzalez is board-certified in internal medicine, allergy-immunology, and rheumatology. He has made significant contributions to the medical community with over 100 scientific articles in peer-reviewed journals and 15 textbook chapters, including Kelly's Rheumatology textbook. His interests span a range of rheumatological conditions, from rheumatoid arthritis to gout, and his commitment to the field has been acknowledged through various distinctions.

Dr. Gonzalez is a fellow of the American College of Physicians, a founding fellow of the American College of Rheumatology, and a Master of the American College of Rheumatology (ACR). In addition to his clinical expertise, he has held leadership roles, including his service as president of the Georgia Society of Rheumatology in 1996 and as chairman of the medical & scientific committee of the Arthritis Foundation, Georgia chapter, in 2004. Notably, Dr. Gonzalez's excellence in teaching was recognized when he received the Golden Apple award at Grady Memorial Hospital, Department of Medicine, during his time at Emory. His dedication to education continues at UTMB, where he was elected as a member of the UTMB Academy of Master Teachers. In 2009, he was bestowed with the title of Distinguished Teaching Professor by the regents of the UT System in Austin. Furthermore, Dr. Gonzalez's consistently high standard of care and expertise have been acknowledged through his inclusion in the esteemed Super Doctors® list from 2011 to the present.

Please join us in congratulating Dr. Emilio B. Gonzalez on this well-deserved honor. His achievements, both in clinical practice and education, are truly commendable, and we are proud to have him as a member of our medical community.

Past Winners 

2022 - Dr. Alexander G. Duarte

2021 - Dr. Michael Charles Boyars

2019 - Dr. Jack B. Alperin

2018 - Pamela G. Watson, RN, ScD

2017 - Dr. Courtney Townsend, Jr.