AMT Faculty Member

Lisa R. Farmer, MDProfessor
Program Director and Vice Chair of Education
Catherine L. Scholl, MD Distinguished Chair of Anesthesiology
Department of Anesthesiology
John Sealy School of Medicine

Dr. Farmer is a Associate Professor in the Department of Anesthesiology. She was awarded the Catherine L. Scholl, MD Distinguished Chair in Anesthesiology to support the education and development of residents and fellows in the Department of Anesthesiology. As Vice Chair of Education and Residency Program Director, she is responsible for the coordination of medical student education, graduate medical education, continuing medical education, and development of faculty as educators in the field of Anesthesiology. 

Dr. Farmer was introduced to problem-based learning as a medical student in the UTMB Interactive Learning Track. After joining the faculty in 2005, she facilitated small group learning as faculty in Practice of Medicine Year 1 course and SIM Man workshops. She teaches a variety of levels of learners from students to fellow faculty through curriculum development, clinical bedside teaching, CME accredited didactic lectures, and faculty development sessions. Dr. Farmer currently serves on the Texas Society of Anesthesiology (TSA) Education Committee and the Committee on Resident and Medical Student Training. She has developed a national reputation in the area of graduate medical education, communication and professional skills training for the Anesthesiology Objective Structured Clinical Examination.

Dr. Farmer is a leader in quality improvement and patient blood management at UTMB. She currently serves as a member of the Blood Management Stewardship Pillar working in collaboration with nurses, multi-disciplinary physicians, technicians, and administrators to lead one of the five pillars of the UTMB plan to become a High Value Practicing Organization. She holds multiple leadership positions including Chair of the UTMB Graduate Medical Education Wellness Committee, UTMB Faculty Grievance Board, and Advisor for American Society of Anesthesiology Program Directors Advisory Group.

Dr. Farmer was inducted into the Academy of Master Teachers in 2015.

Learner Types: JSSOM - Residency/Fellowships, JSSOM - Medical Students - Clinical Years, High School Students.

Assessment of Learners: Clinical Skills Assessment, Observed Structured Clinical Evaluations (OSCE), Remediation.

Instructional Methods: Flipped Classroom, Clinical Teaching (Hospital or Clinic), Workshop Development.

Scholarship - Ed Research or Curriculum Innovation: Poster Development.