• The sun rising over planet earth seen from space

    UTMB Aerospace Medicine program members honored

    Members of the UTMB Aerospace Medicine program were honored by the Aerospace Medicine Association at its 94th annual Scientific Meeting, which took place recently in Chicago.

  • Dr. Jeffrey Susman Sr. Associate dean of educational performance, John Sealy School of Medicine Adjunct Professor, family medicine

    Susman receives NBME distinguished service award

    Dr. Jeff Susman, senior associate dean and professor of family medicine at the University of Texas Medical Branch, is one of seven recipients selected by the National Board of Medical Examiners for the 2024 Edithe J. Levit Distinguished Service Award.

  • Dr. Mansfield speaks about organ donation in front of the Tree of Life display

    Nourished by gratitude, UTMB’s Tree of Life blossoms

    Dr. Jerry Mansfield’s voice cracked as he talked about the death of his 15-year-old brother-in-law. It happened decades ago, but the emotion was fresh and the memory raw as Mansfield, new vice president and system chief nursing executive at the University of Texas Medical Branch, stood in front of a crowd gathered in the hallway of Jennie Sealy Hospital on the Galveston Campus.

  • Dr. Michael P. Sheetz Robert A Welch Distinguished University Chair in Chemistry in the Department of Biochemistry & Molecular Biology

    UTMB researcher named top scholar by ScholarGPS

    Dr. Michael Sheetz is the top scholar in the world publishing on cytoskeletons and among the top 0.05 percent of scholars according to ScholarGPS, an analytics site which tracks and ranks scholars and institutions worldwide.

  • Care Closet expands to all UTMB campuses

    The Care Closet, which provides clothing, toiletries and other basic needs to patients and their families, is now available at the University of Texas Medical Branch League City, Clear Lake and Angleton Danbury campuses, in addition to the original program on the Galveston Campus.

  • UTMB Professor Receives Prestigious NIH Prize

    Dr. Ramkumar Menon, professor in the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology at the University of Texas Medical Branch, was recently awarded a prestigious prize of $50,000 from the National Institutes of Health.

  • Research grant awards target innovations in trauma care

    Five University of Texas Medical Branch primary investigators received competitive grant awards totaling $1,722,433 from the Trauma Research and Combat Casualty Care Collaborative for six research projects.