• Dr. David Brown Senior Vice president and dean of the school of health professions

    ASAHP selects Brown for 2022 Fellowship

    The Association of Schools Advancing Health Professions (ASAHP) has selected Dr. David Brown for a 2022 Fellowship. Brown, Senior Vice President and Dean of the UTMB School of Health Professions, began working with the organization about four years ago and serves as Chair of the Research, Development, and Innovation Committee.

  • UTMB Physician Elected to the Texas Medical Association Board of Trustees

    Dr. Samuel E. Mathis, associate professor in the Department of Family Medicine at the University of Texas Medical Branch, has been elected to the Texas Medical Association (TMA) Board of Trustees to represent the Young Physician Section. TMA’s House of Delegates policymaking body elected Mathis during the association’s annual conference TexMed, in Houston on April 30.

  • UTMB’s Dr. Shi receives praise, recognition from NIAID for COVID-19 research

    In a letter addressed to Dr. Pei-Yong Shi and his team of researchers in the department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology at the University of Texas Medical Branch, Dr. Anthony Fauci, the Director of National Institute of Allergies and Infectious Diseases, recognized the incredible work done by the scientists during the fast-paced COVID-19 pandemic.

  • UTMB Health logo

    2021 President’s Cabinet Awards recipients announced

    Eight original projects at the University of Texas Medical Branch have earned President’s Cabinet awards totaling $211,256. The projects include support for a comprehensive care clinic at St. Vincent’s House to provide post-discharge support to heart failure patients, the creation of private spaces to promote mindfulness and relaxation among healthcare staff during stressful work situations and the purchase of specialized freezers for storing vaccines to increase Varicella vaccination rates among postpartum mothers.