Phillips inducted as AAPS president

Dr. Linda Phillips, plastic surgeon with the University of Texas Medical Branch, was recently inducted as president of the American Association of Plastic Surgeons.

The American Society of Plastic Surgeons, founded in 1931, is the largest plastic surgery specialty organization in the world with a mission to advance quality care to plastic surgery patients by encouraging high standards of training, ethics, physician practice and research in plastic surgery.

Dr. Phillips currently holds the Truman G. Blocker, Jr., M.D. Distinguished Chair and is chief of UTMB’s Division of Plastic Surgery. Dr. Phillips joined UTMB in 1988 after completing her Basic and Plastic Surgery residencies at the University of Chicago and her General Surgery residency at Northwestern University.

Dr. Phillips specializes in the healing of difficult wounds, body contouring after massive weight loss, reconstructive and aesthetic breast surgery, and cosmetic facial and body contouring of all types.