The 24th Structural Biology Annual Symposium - 2019

On May 4th, 2019, the 24th Structural Biology Annual Symposium was successfully held. Six talks were given by renowned scientists. Of the 58 posters presented and 4 posters were selected as winners. Each winner was awarded a prize of $100.


  • Thomas E. Cheatham, III, Ph.D., Professor, Department of Medicinal Chemistry, College of Pharmacy, Director, Research Computing and CHPC, UIT, University of Utah, Salt Lake City, UT
    Title: “Convergence, Reproducbility and Accuracy - There are Still Some Surprises in Modeling the Structure and Dynamics of Nucleic Acids”
  • Edward H. Egelman, Ph.D., Harrison Distinguished Professor, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Genetics, University of Virginia School of Medicine, Charlottesville, VA
    Title: “Cryo-EM of Helical Protein and Nucleoprotein Polymers at Near-Atomic Resolution”
  • Matthieu G. Gagnon, Ph.D., Assistant Professor , Department of Microbiology & Immunology, Sealy Center for Structural Biology & Molecular Biophysics, University of Texas Medical Branch, Galveston, TX
    Title: “How RRF and tRNA Disassemble the Ribosome During Recycling”
  • Karen Maxwell, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Department of Biochemistry, University of Toronto, Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Title: “The Role of anti-CRISPRs in the Phage-Host Evolutionary Arms Race”
  • Michael Sheetz, Ph.D., Director, Mechanobiology Institute, Distinguished Professor, Dept of Biological Sciences, National University of Singapore, Singapore
    Title: ”Nanometer Level Matrix Structures Control Adhesion Clustering and Dynamics”
  • Liang Tong, Ph.D., William R. Kenan, Jr. Professor and Chair, Department of Biological Sciences, Columbia University, New York, NY
    Title: “Structural Studies of RNA 3’-end Processing Machineries”

Poster Winners

  • Jonathan Clinger, Postdoc., Rice University
    Title: Cryo-trapping Crystal Studies of Photoreceptor PixJ Yield New Insights into its Photoconversion Mechanism
  • Bianka Holguin, Student, University of Texas at El Paso
    Title: Mutations in Small Heat-Shock Protein 27 Affect Phosphorylation Regulated Chaperone
  • Caleb Huang, Student, University of Texas Medical Branch
    Title: Diffusion in Membraneless Organelles: A Simple Model
  • Jonathan Mercado, Student, Baylor College of Medicine
    Title: Targeting the Leishmania Hsp100 N Domain to Prevent Infective Parasite Stage Differentiation

The symposium would have been impossible without the following sponsorship:




Thermo Scientific logo