Clinical Laboratory Sciences

Post-Baccalaureate Categorical Certificate Programs


These structured programs are equivalent to the curriculum in each of the areas in Medical Laboratory Sciences and are under the auspices of a NAACLS accredited Medical Laboratory Scientist program.

National Accrediting Agency for Clinical Laboratory Sciences
5600 N. River Rd. Suite 720
Rosemont, IL 60018-5119


Graduates of a categorical certificate program under a NAACLS accredited medical laboratory science program are eligible for national certification as technologist in a specific area.

In addition to the national certification, some states require the the practitioner to obtain a license, usually requiring one of the national certifications and/or a state licensing test. The following list is provided as an advisory to students, but is not guaranteed to be complete or current. The interested student should contact the state of interest for more details about any requirements for working as a technologist in that state. Texas, at this time, does not require a license.

Visit for more information about licensure requirements.

  • California
  • Florida
  • Hawaii
  • Louisiana
  • Montana
  • Nevada
  • New York
  • North Dakota
  • Rhode Island
  • Tennessee
  • West Virginia

Site managed by the School of Health Professions • Last Updated: 08-SEP-2023