SHP Faculty Assembly

2023-2024 Officers

Chih-Ying Li

Chih-Ying (Cynthia) Li, PhD, OTR OTR


P: 409-772-9492

Web Bio
Tony Chao

Tony Chao, PhD


P: 409-772-3068

Web Bio
Amber Armstead

Amber Armstead, DrPH, OTR, BCPR


P: 409-772-3082

Web Bio
Rajkumar Rajendran

Rajkumar Rajendran, DCLS, MS, MLS(ASCP)cm


P: 409-772-3055

Web Bio

Meeting Info

The FY24 SHP Faculty Assembly meets from 3:00 - 4:30 pm on the 4th Wednesday every other month in person at the Health Education Center 3.206 or online.

  • May 24, 2023
    Guest Speaker: Moreno, Chief of Staff, Office of the Provost, AE & Eileen Garza, Associate Director, Service Center, AE
    Topic: Travel requirements and reimbursement updates
  • July 26, 2023
    Guest Speaker: Dr. Shayne Washington, Director, Student Success Center
    Topic: QPR training overview
    Guest Speaker:Dr. Niti Vyas, Assistant Professor of Instruction, Clinical Laboratory Sciences
    Topic: SHP Alumni Board
  • September 13, 2023
    Guest Speaker: Dr. Kristin Peek, Senior Vice President and Dean, School of Public and Population Health
    Topic: Collaboration opportunities between SPPH & SHP
  • March 27, 2024
    Guest Speaker: Dr. Deborah Jones, Senior VP and Dean, School of Nursing
    Topic: Chief Integration Officer
    Guest Speaker: Dr. Yang-Fong Kuo, Professor and Chair, Department of Biostatistics & Data Science
    Topic: Overview of Office of Biostatistics Services
  • November 29, 2023
    Guest Speaker: Dr. Kristen Starnes-Ott, Vice Dean Academic Affairs and Professor & Dr. Darpan Patel, Vice Dean Research and Scholarship
    Topic: Collaboration opportunities between SHP & SON
  • January 24, 2024
    Guest Speaker: Aaron LeMay, VP, Financial Accounting & Reporting & Gabriel Hernandez, VP & Chief Financial Officer, AE
    Topic: University financial status and priorities updates
  • April 19, 2024
    Town Hall Meeting
    Topic: APT/PTR guideline changes
  • April 24, 2024
    Special April Meeting
    Topic: APT/PTR guideline changes
  • May 22, 2024
    Guest Speaker: Dr. Alan Landay, VP for Team Science
    Topic: Team Science
  • July 24, 2024
    Guest Speaker: Dr. Susan Chubinskaya, VP and Executive Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs
    Topic: Faculty Affairs & Professional Development

SHP Stellar Performance Awards

SHP Stellar Performance Awards represent values emphasized at our school, including Professionalism, Leadership, Innovation, Service, and Excellence. We recognize SHP faculty for exemplifying these values and going above and beyond in carrying out the mission of the School of Health Professions.

The AY 2022-2023 award recipients were:

  • Rodney Welsh - Educational Excellence Award
  • Karen Ratcliff - Leadership Excellence Award
  • Amy Boyd - Service Excellence Award  
  • Lima Ghulmi - Rising Faculty Star Award
  • Gregory Brusola - Research Faculty Educational Excellence Award
  • Karthik Mani - Teaching Faculty Scholarship Excellence Award

The AY 2021-2022 award recipients were:

  • Rajkumar Rajendran - Educational Excellence Award
  • Amber Armstead - Leadership Excellence Award
  • Loree Pryor - Service Excellence Award
  • Gregory Brusola - Rising Faculty Star Award
  • April Cowan - Scholarship Excellence Award
  • Shih-Chiao Tseng - Teaching Faculty Scholarship Excellence Award

Committee Charge

The Bylaws of the Faculty express the philosophy of the faculty in regard to their responsibility to the objectives of the School, to the manner in which they organize themselves for the accomplishments of those objectives, and to the involvement of faculty in the affairs of the School. To accomplish the objectives of the School, the faculty recognize the need for an effective relationship between their members and those individuals or groups with whom they interact, either individually or collectively, including fellow faculty, administrators, educational support personnel and students either in the School, The University of Texas Medical Branch or other components of The University of Texas System.

Related Information

Site managed by the School of Health Professions • Last Updated: 25-APR-2024