Welcome

 

Assistance

Equipment & Services

Applications

 

Access Management

Information Security

 

Clinical IS

IS Operations

IT Priorities

 

About IS

Contact Us

 

myVPN FAQ


Why would I use a VPN?

A VPN connection will allow you to connect to your campus workstation using a Remote Desktop Connection. Since you are using your campus workstation all applications that work at work should work remotely. Check with your support group to make sure RDP is enabled and you know your machine name or network address.

What will VPN do for me?

A VPN will allow you to connect to UTMB using a service such as a cable modem or DSL connection in a secure way. This is done by creating an encrypted connection between your remote device and a server inside the UTMB network. It will allow you secure access to your email, file server files, and web pages connected inside the UTMB network. It will allow limited “browsing” of the network to find systems. If your Home PC or laptop is a “member” of the UTMB-USERS-M domain, you can browse through “Network Neighborhood” or through a direct computer search. If your Home PC or laptop is not a “member” of the UTMB-USERS-M domain, you can browse through a direct computer search only. Additionally, during the time you are connected it will provide your PC with a UTMB IP number (address). This will provide additional access to applications and services which require access only from a UTMB address.

How does the VPN impact my home network?

In order to assure a secure connection the VPN will not allow a computer to share files, printers, or connection with another network such as America On Line, at the same time it is connected to UTMB. The VPN operates in a mode similar to a modem connection using your home Internet connection with the ability to connect and disconnect. The sharing functions are only disabled while the PC is “connected” to UTMB. Additionally if your PC used the “bridge” function the VPN will not operate correctly.

Does the VPN make my connection as fast as my UTMB office PC?

No, the VPN will operate at the speed of the connection your PC is running at home. You may see a slight improvement due to added data compression. However, the connection speed is unchanged.

Does the VPN make my home PC act like my office PC?

Possibly. The VPN provides the capability to map drives, access files, and run applications; however, if these applications are not installed or drives are not already mapped, this will not change just because the VPN is installed.

Do I have to run virus protection software on my PC to use the VPN?

Not at this time. Although we strongly suggest you always run a virus protection program on your PC. UTMB provides Microsoft Forefront Client Security virus protection software and updates to faculty, staff, and students. In the future our goal will be to insure there is a virus protection program running on any home computer in order to allow a VPN connection. This will assist us in protecting the UTMB environment from infection.

How much time will it take for me to install the software and get started?

The install is automatic when logging into https://myvpn.utmb.edu and selecting the Network Connect client. This should not take more than 60 seconds

If I have problems with the VPN can I remove it from my PC?

Yes. You can uninstall the Network Connect client by going to START/PROGRAMS/JUNIPER NETWORKS/NETWORK CONNECT and click on UNINSTALL NETWORK CONNECT Client. However the next time you connect to https://myvpn.utmb.edu and click on the Network Connect client, it will be reinstalled automatically.

Can my PC run the same login script which runs in my office to map my drives?

No. You will need to run this login script – : Login Script

Can I map drives without a login script?

Yes, the VPN supports mapping drives using either the server name or IP numbers.

I cannot connect to UTMB services but I installed the VPN. What is wrong?

Nothing is wrong. If you are not “connected” using the VPN, the “default policy” is designed to stop access to UTMB. This is done to require a secure connection to UTMB network resources. You should double click the VPN icon and select “connect”. You should now be able to reach the services on the campus.

How do I know if I have a secure connection?

Access to internal UTMB systems is only available through the VPN which is encrypted by default. If you are accessing an internal UTMB system, then your connection is both secure and encrypted.

I use AOL or connect to another non-UTMB network and it will not start while the VPN is connected. What is wrong?

Nothing is wrong. In order to assure a secure connection the VPN will not allow a computer to share files, printers, or connection with another network, such as America On Line, at the same time it is connected to UTMB. The VPN operates in a mode similar to a modem connection using your home Internet connection with the ability to connect and disconnect. The sharing functions are only disabled while the PC is “connected” to UTMB. To connect to another network or resume resource sharing double click on the icon and select “Disconnect.”

Why do I have to logon to each UTMB resource (server, email, etc.) individually?

This is a normal function of the MS authentication process. Unless your machine is a member of the domain it is normal to have to logon to each server and/or email.

Is there a way to place a shortcut icon on my desktop to make the program easier to use?

You should always log in through https://myvpn.utmb.edu to access the VPN services.

My home computer or laptop is a member of the UTMB-USERS-M domain. Are there any special procedures for these systems?

Not at this time.

Is there a timeout value for the VPN connection?

Yes, there is a 30 minute inactivity timer and a 10 hour session limit that will disconnect you from the VPN. The VPN client will disconnect you and make re-authenticate in order to reconnect.

I received a warning after I disconnected from the VPN server that there was a possible data loss due to a delayed write. What should I do?

In some cases the Windows operating systems do not write data immediately. As a result, if you immediately disconnect your VPN after exiting a program such as Exchange, which gives you an option of writing a file to a server mailbox (pst file), it may not finish writing before the data is completely saved. In order to avoid this, it is recommended that after you close the Exchange program you wait 5 minutes before disconnecting the VPN client. This will not happen if you only use Exchange server files. It is related to additional post office files usually stored on servers other than the Exchange server.

How do I MAP my network drive letters?

Windows

  • Right click on my network places and select “Map Network Drive”
  • Chose a drive letter
  • Put in the path to the share you are trying to Map. \\Server\Share;
    Example \\utmbf5\jdoe$ or \\utmbf2\files.
  • Make sure the “Reconnect at Logon” box is checked.
  • Under the “Reconnect at Logon” check box, there is a sentence that says “Connect using a different user name”. Click on the portion that is underlined different user name.
  • A “Connect As” window appears. In the User name field, put in your credentials like this: Utmb-users-m\username (username is your UTMB user name you use to sign on at UTMB ) In the password field, put in your UTMB password. Select OK => Select Finish. Your drive mapping should establish.
  • Your VPN connection must be established for these drive mappings to work.
  • After you log off and log on to your machine, an error message will pop up saying the workstation cannot reconnect to the drive mapping. Just select OK. You’ll get a pop-up for each VPN drive mapping you created. Select OK for each one. After your desktop logon is complete, connect to VPN and try to access any of your drive mappings. You will be prompted to put in your UTMB password. Put in your UTMB password and the drive mapping will reconnect.


The UTMB IS web site is maintained by IS Enterprise Systems and IS Operations.